Seven Earn Dr. Gerald Lage Award From Big 12

March 1, 2016

FORT WORTH -- Seven TCU student-athletes have been named recipients of the Big 12's Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award, the conference announced Tuesday. The TCU recipients are Kristen Connolly (diving), Erin Gillette (equestrian), Nicole Hicks (cross country/track and field), Kelly McGovern (women's golf), Lauren Sajewich (soccer), Alex Sborov (women's golf), and Makena Schroder (track and field).

The award is in its sixth year and is the Big 12 Conference's highest academic honor.

Connolly, a native of San Antonio, Texas, has dominated the diving board this season. The senior was named the Big 12 Diver of the Week in October after breaking the school record in the 1-meter dive with a score of 321.30. She is an education major.

Gillette, a native of Palos Verdes, Calif., has been a competitor in Western for the Horned Frogs. Gillette has claimed three victories in Horsemanship so far this season. She is a finance major.

Hicks, a native of Phoenix, Ariz., capped off her sophomore cross country season by earning All-Big 12 Academic honors. Hicks is a movement science major.

McGovern, a native of The Woodlands, Texas, most recently recorded a career-best 3-under-par 213 to open the spring season. McGovern ended the Lady Puerto Rico Classic with back-to-back 69s and holds a 74.3 stroke average this year. She is a finance major.

Sajewich, a native of Frankfort, Ill., was a staple for TCU's defense last season. Sajewich closed out 2015 by playing every minute in the final eight games, including the double overtime game against Baylor. Sajewich is a movement science major.

Sborov, a native of Pleasanton, Calif., posted a career-low round of 74 in the fall of her junior campaign. Sborov is a finance major.

Schroder, a native of Sandy, Ore., throws javelin for the Horned Frogs. Schroder took home seventh place with mark of 42.97m (141-0) in the javelin finals at last year's Big 12 Outdoor Championship. She is an education major.

The award is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award recipients will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball