TCU Horned Frogs
Five Horned Frogs Share Big 12's Highest Academic Award

Stefanie Tan

Stefanie Tan

March 7, 2014

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Five TCU student-athletes were recipients of the fourth annual Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award, the Big 12 Conference's top academic honor.

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

Kristen Barg (soccer), Alexandra Bonetti (women's golf), Justin Chambers (track and field), Kelsi Schatz (equestrian) and Stefanie Tan (women's tennis) all represented TCU on the esteemed list.

The Horned Frogs had six honorees in 2012-13, its first year in the conference. Track and field's Katie Dalton, Shannon Speir and Sara Talley made it as well as Emily Maloof (equestrian), Sabine Rasch (swimming and diving) and Max Stevens (tennis).

The Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award recipients will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.

The award is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).