TCU Celebrates 2009-10 at Annual All-Sports Banquet

April 27, 2010

Photo Gallery

FORT WORTH--The TCU Athletics Department hosted its annual All-Sports Banquet on Monday evening where seniors Jerry Hughes and Helena Sverrisdottir were honored with the department's highest accolade in the Pop Boone Athletes of the Year Award. 

Hughes, the 2009 Lott Trophy and Ted Hendricks Award winner, was just the second two-time consensus All-American in TCU history. Also a finalist for the Rotary Lombardi Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Hughes had 11 1/2 sacks among 16 1/2 tackles for loss from his defensive end position. He totaled a career-high 58 stops. Hughes was selected in the first round of the 2010 National Football League draft, the 31st player overall, by the Indianapolis Colts. 

Hughes was also honored with the Chancellor’s Award. The honor is presented to the student-athlete who displays exceptional talent in multiple areas. A native of Sugar Land, Texas, Hughes never played defense until arriving at TCU. He was a tailback and kickoff returner in high school. Hughes, who took 18 academic hours in the fall semester, will graduate next month with a degree in communications. He will have earned his degree in four years. In October 2009, Hughes received a Local Hero Award from Bank of America for his community service.

Sverrisdottir earned Mountain West Conference Player of the Year and an honorable-mention All-American by both the Associated Press and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. She was the lone player in the MWC to rank among the league’s top-15 players in scoring (13.6 ppg), rebounds (6.7 rpg), assists (5.2 apg) and steals (2.2 spg). Additionally, Sverrisdottir became the first player in program history to compile 1,000 points, 500 rebounds and 300 assists in a career.

Ben Biefnes and Carrie von Uhlit were honored with the Dutch Meyer Scholar-Athletes of the Year Award, which is named for the former TCU Athletics Director. The award is given to a graduating senior with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0, who has been an integral participant on their team and has demonstrated service to the campus and community.

Biefnes was a team captain for the Horned Frogs’ swimming team that enjoyed a perfect 7-0 season and captured the MWC Dual Meet Season Championship. The TCU senior notched the squad’s second-fastest 400-IM clocking of the year at 4:02.24, while chiming in with TCU’s third-best 200-breast output at 2:06.13.

Von Uhlit posted a combined ledger of 19-4 in the regular season between Reining and Horsemanship in 2009-10 and was listed as the No. 1 ranked rider in Reining at one point during the year. The Winters, Calif., product collected eight MVP accolades and helped lead TCU to its highest-ever finish at nationals.

The TCU women’s soccer team was honored with the Hal Harbuck Community Service Award, which is presented annually to a TCU student-athlete or team that goes above and beyond the call of duty in the field of community service.

The Frogs hosted the second annual “Kicks for Cook” soccer clinic for youth soccer players and kindergarten through eighth-grade students, with all proceeds going directly to Cook Children's Hospital. The soccer clinics hosted over 70 participants from local youth teams around the Metroplex. The clinic was organized, marketed and planned completely by the women's soccer program.

Swimmer Ashley Bolin was honored with the 2009 William Koehler Academic Achievement Award, which is presented to a student-athlete who displays tremendous perseverance and accomplishment while overcoming obstacles of a unique nature.

The TCU Athletics Department also honored the Most Valuable Players for each respective team at the All-Sports Banquet, which are listed below:

Bryan Holaday, Baseball
Edvinus Ruzgas, Men's Basketball
Jerry Hughes, Football
Johan de Beer, Men's Golf
Edgar Crespo, Men's Swimming and Diving
Festus Kigen, Men’s Track and Field 
Slah Mbarek, Men's Tennis
Helena Sverrisdottir, Women's Basketball
Carrie von Uhlit, Equestrian
Valentine Derrey, Women's Golf
Sarah Scherer, Women's Rifle
Jackie Torda, Women's Soccer
Maria Paula Alvarez, Women's Swimming and Diving
Nina Munch-Soegaard, Women's Tennis
Whitney Gipson, Women's Track and Field
Kourtney Edwards, Women's Volleyball

In addition, the Frogs recognized eight student-athletes that posted All-American honors during the 2009-10 academic campaign, which are listed below:

Helena Sverrisdottir, Women's Basketball
Andy Dalton, Football
Jerry Hughes, Football
Jeremy Kerley, Football
Jake Kirkpatrick, Football
Marshall Newhouse, Football
Rafael Priest, Football
Daryl Washington, Football
Sarah Beard, Rifle
Erin Lorenzen, Rifle
Caitlin Morrissey, Rifle
Simone Riford, Rifle
Sarah Scherer, Rifle
Neidra Covington, Women's Indoor Track and Field
Kristal Juarez, Women's Indoor Track and Field
Festus Kigen, Men's Indoor Track and Field
Whitney Gipson, Women's Indoor Track and Field
Kourtney Edwards, Volleyball
Christy Hudson, Volleyball
Megan Munce, Volleyball


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball