Horned Frogs receive 57 Scholar-Athlete Awards from Mountain West Conference

June 23, 2008

The Mountain West Conference honored 57 TCU student-athletes with Scholar-Athlete Awards for the 2007-08 campaign - which was announced on Monday (June 23) afternoon.

The Horned Frogs had representatives from 16 athletic program that received Mountain West Conference Scholar-Athletes laurels - including baseball, men's basketball, men's and women's cross country, football, men's and women's golf, women's soccer, rifle, men's and women's swimming and diving, men's and women's track and field, men's and women's tennis and women's volleyball.

The women's swimming and diving program had the most members as they were represented by seven awards winners while women's soccer notched six award recipients and baseball, women's rifle, men's swimming and diving and women's track and field each had five honorees, respectively.

"This award honors those student-athletes that have been able to sustain academic excellence over the course of an entire academic year," said Chris Uchacz - Director of Athletics Academic Services. "We are very proud of each of our recipients and should all applaud the determination and hard work that goes into sustained academic success."

The Frogs had two student-athletes record a perfect 4.0 cumulative grade point average in Macy Zander (women's swimming and diving) and Rebecca Upjohn (women's rifle) while 22 student-athletes earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or higher during this past academic term.

In order to be eligible for Mountain West Conference Scholar-Athlete Award - which is the highest academic honor by the conference - student-athletes must have completed at least two academic terms at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and have participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.

2007-08 Mountain West Conference Scholar-Athlete Award Winners

Clint Arnold
Sean Hoelscher
Eric Marshall
Derek VerHagen
Hunt Woodruff

Men's Basketball
Kevin Langford

Men's Cross Country
Andrew McDonald
Jeff Pels

Women's Cross Country
Cassie Hostick
Tanja Ivandic
Ashley Millerick
Ashley Young

Ervin Dickerson
Bart Johnson
Josh Karlin
Chris Manfredini

Men's Golf
Tom Hoge

Women's Golf
Melissa Loh
Christina Schams

Women's Rifle
Tanya Gorin
Emily Paper
Simone Riford
Lauren Sullivan
Rebecca Upjohn

Women's Soccer
Kelly Faerber
Jenna Hayes
Cheryl Martin
Julia Slater
Jackie Torda
Kelsey Vross

Men's Swimming and Diving
Kyle Callens
Jason Hauck
Bryce Orser
Nicholas Valby
Trevor Woods

Women's Swimming and Diving
Sarah Bardwell
Melanie Cruthirds
Hannah Hale
Kimberly Jones
Cheryl Townsend
Keilah Walker
Macy Zander

Men's Tennis
Cosmin Cotet
Casey Powers

Women's Tennis
Maria Babanova
Macall Harkins
Andrea Morgado

Men's Track and Field
Joe Brown
Jeff Pels

Women's Track and Field
Crystal Fenoglio
Tanja Ivandic
Ashley Millerick
Kara Weaver
Ashley Young

Women's Volleyball
Calli Corley
Christy Hudson
Devon Kirk

TCU Athletic Media Relations

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball