TCU Horned Frogs
Lilly to be inducted into East-West Shrine Game Hall of Fame

Bob Lilly

Bob Lilly

Dec. 22, 2005

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- Former TCU football All-American Bob Lilly will be inducted into the East-West Shrine Game Hall of Fame on Jan. 21, 2006 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The induction will be held during halftime of the 81st Annual East-West Shrine Game (ESWG) which begins at 3 p.m. Central.

Lilly was a two-time All-Southwest Conference pick and a consensus All-American. He was the Dallas Cowboys' first-ever draft choice in 1961. Lilly was a first-team All-NFL choice every year from 1964 through 1969, and again in 1971 and 1972. He played in seven NFL/NFC title contests and two Super Bowls. Lilly also was selected to play in 11 Pro Bowls. In 1980, he became the first player who spent his entire career with the Cowboys to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The East-West Shrine Game, hosted by the Shrine of North America and Shriners Hospitals for Children, has been America's original and premier college football all-star game since 1925. Lilly is an alumnus of the 1960 East-West Shrine Game.

Every year, the East-West Shrine Game raises money and awareness for the 22 Shriners Hospitals for Children, which provide orthopedic, burn and spinal cord injury care at no cost to the patients or their families. To date, the game has raised over $14 million for Shriners Hospitals, where more than 770,000 children have been treated.

The East-West Shrine Game Hall of Fame was started in 2002 and members include: Former President Gerald Ford (EWSG 1935); Eddie LeBaron (EWSG 1949); Dick Butkus (EWSG 1965); Dick Stanfel (EWSG 1950); Ollie Matson (EWSG 1951); Volney Peters (EWSG 1950); Hugh McElhenny (EWSG 1951); Les Richter (EWSG 1951); Merlin Olsen (EWSG 1961); Craig Morton (EWSG 1965); Alan Page (EWSG 1966); and Gene Washington (EWSG 1968).