TCU Horned Frogs
TCU Athletic Academic Services
 
 
Mission Statement
"Empowering Horned Frog student-athletes to become ethical leaders through academic excellence, personal growth and
career development."
 
 Important information
  About AASO
  Policies
  Enhancement Center
  Academic Learning Center

 About CHAMPS/Life Skills
  TCU CHAMPS/Life Skills Registration

 Tutor Services
  Student-Athlete Information
  Tutor Information
  Tutor Application
  Tutor Agreement Form
  Study Hall Supervisor Form
  Academic Calendar
  NCAA CHAMPS/Life Skills
  Learning Assistant Information
  Learning Assistant Form
  Student Worker Form

 Prospective Student-Athletes
  TCU Website
  Admissions
  Registrar's Office
  Athletics Compliance
  Academic Calendar
  TCU Orientation
  Financial Aid
  Residential Services

 

   
About Athletic Academic Services Office
TCU recognizes the special needs of today's NCAA Division I student-athlete and has made the commitment to address those needs with a comprehensive academic support program. In addition to the demands of being a student-athlete in a quality private institution such as TCU, Horned Frog student-athletes must also deal with the extra pressures associated with participating athletically in one of the most competitive conferences in the nation.

The AASO strives to prepare Horned Frog student-athletes in the classroom and on the field. There are over 450 student-athletes who compete in 20 different Division I-A Intercollegiate Athletic sport programs at TCU. The AASO has over 15,000 square feet in 2 different facilities and offers all TCU student-athletes a comprehensive tutor program, a Writing Specialist on Staff, and a NCAA CHAMPS/Life Skills Program. The ultimate goal of the AASO is to assist TCU student-athletes and help equip them with the necessary tools to excel in the classroom, on the field while also preparing them for a career after University.

The Director of the AASO oversees a professional advising staff of four full-time Assistant Directors/Athletic Academic Advisors, one Graduate Assistant, an NCAA CHAMPS/Life Skills Coordinator, a Writing Specialist and a full-time Administrative Assistant. The AASO staff is committed to assisting all TCU student-athletes in earning a university diploma while also preparing them for life after graduation. The primary goal is to empower student-athletes to develop independence, self-reliance, strong personal values, leadership skills, and responsibility while emphasizing personal, educational, and career development.

Athletics Academic Services Office
Name Position Email Address
Shawn Worthen Assistant Athletics Director for Academic Serv. s.worthen@tcu.edu
Kendrick Gholston Assistant Director k.gholston@tcu.edu
Kit Mintz Assistant Director k.mintz@tcu.edu
Ray Walls Assistant Director r.o.walls@tcu.edu
Judy Golden Assistant Director | Career Specialist j.golden@tcu.edu
Kathy Raines NCAA CHAMPS | Life Skills Coordinator k.raines@tcu.edu
Sarah Liles Writing Specialist s.l.liles@tcu.edu
Rosie Tarnowski Graduate Assistant Academic Advisor rosie.tarnowski@tcu.edu
Nancy Weiser Administrative Assistant n.j.weiser@tcu.edu
Main Phone (817) 257-7972
Main Fax (817) 257-7178