TCU Athletic Training and Sports Medicine

 

 Important Forms
   TCU Student Insurance Procedure
   Nutritional Supplement Disclosure Form
   HIPPA Release Form
   Authorization Form
   Health Insurance Information Form
   Student-Athlete Fact Sheet
   Sickle Cell Screening Policy

 Athletic Training Education Program
   TCU Athletics Scholarships
   Gatorade Scholarships
   NATA Research Scholarship
   SW Athletic Trainers' Scholarship
   Athletic Training Awards

 TCU/SMU Student Summer Workshop
 Summer Workshop Application Get Acrobat Reader

 

   
TCU Athletic Training and Sports Medicine
The NATABOC certified athletic trainer, or ATC, is a highly educated and skilled professional whose specialty is in athletic health care. The ATC is recognized as an Allied Health Professional. As a sports medicine expert and member of the complete health care team, the ATC works under the direction of a licensed physician and in cooperation with other health care professionals and sports team members. The ATC is skilled and knowledgeable in five areas, otherwise recognized as the five domains of athletic training.

• Injury/illness prevention and wellness protection
• Clinical evaluation and diagnosis
• Immediate and emergency care
• Treatment and rehabilitation
• Organizational and professional health and well-being

Unit Goals
Objectives for the Athletic Training Room are to provide the highest level of athletic and sports medicine care to the intercollegiate student athletes of Texas Christian University. This includes the care, prevention and rehabilitation of athletic injuries and helping to direct the nutritional and physiological needs of the student athlete.

Sports Medicine Team
Fort Worth Orthopedics
Spine: Dr. Mark Wylie
Shoulder, Elbow, Knee: Dr. Jim Bothwell, Dr. Steve Singleton
Foot/Ankle: Dr. Donald Stewart
Dentist: Dr. Gary Pointer
Physical Therapy: Texas Health - Ben Hogan Sports Medicine

TCU Athletic Training and Sports Medicine Staff

David Gable
Associate Athletics Director for Sports Medicine
Sport Responsibilities: Football
Email: d.gable@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-7984

Valerie Tinklepaugh-Hairston
Associate Director for Sports Medicine
Athletics Insurance Coordinator
Sport Responsibilities: Women's Basketball, Men's Golf
Email: v.hairston@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-6647

Matt Herrill
Associate Director for Sports Medicine
Sport Responsibilities: Men's Basketball, Women's Golf
Email: matt.herrill@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5399

Danny Wheat
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Baseball
Email: j.wheat@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5156

Lauren Crawford
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Indoor and Beach Volleyball
Email: l.crawford@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5359

Tricia Jamison
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Soccer, Rifle
Email: p.b.jamison@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5875

Dillon Smith
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Football
Email: d.smith89@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-6649

Zach LaCross
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Football
Email: z.lacross@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5874

Bronson Sagon
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Cross Country, Track & Field
Email: b.sagon@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5875

Sara Hart
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Swimming & Diving
Email: sara.e.hart@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5359

Ashley Hool
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Equestrian
Email: a.hool@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5659

Maxx Akel
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer
Sport Responsibilities: Men's and Women's Tennis
Email: m.akel@tcu.edu
Office: 817-257-5875

TCU Sports Medicine Fax
Fax Number: 817-257-6640

TCU Physicians
Dr. Michele Kirk
Dr. Jason Mogonye
Office: 817-257-6643





SOCIAL
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
FOLLOW THE FROGS
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball