Rifle Earns Right To Defend Title

The seniors will be aiming for their third career title.

Feb. 20, 2013

FORT WORTH - The defending NCAA Champion TCU rifle team was one of eight teams selected for the 2013 National Collegiate Men's and Women's Rifle Championship set to take place March 8-9 on the Ohio State campus. It marks the seventh straight season the Frogs have qualified for the championships.

"It has been truly a team effort this year that is reflective of their hard work and total commitment to not only achieving their third undefeated season but another opportunity to compete in the NCAA Championships," raved head coach Karen Monez. "It has been the goal and mind-set of the three seniors on this championship squad to return to Ohio State to defend their championship title."

TCU went undefeated in 2012-13, recording a 10-0 mark. The Frogs have won 41 straight regular season matches dating back to the 2009-10 campaign. Since the start of the 2009-10 campaign, the squad has lost just two matches.

On four occasions in the 2012-13 campaign, the Frogs broke the 4,700 threshold, including a school-record 4,718 against Kentucky on Nov. 17. Sarah Scherer has been the top shooter in both air rifle and smallbore this season. This season she broke the NCAA record in smallbore, shooting a 597 and combined with her air rifle score of 598, set the NCAA aggregate score record as well.

Heading to Ohio State for the Horned Frogs will be Sarah Beard, Catherine Green, Megan Lee, Caitlin Morrissey and Scherer.

TCU has had a tremendous amount of success in the National Championships the last six seasons. They reached the pinnacle in both 2010 and 2012 as they took home the team National Championship as well as the Air Rifle National Championship in both 2010 and 2012. They have notched two fifth-place finishes (2007 and 2009) and a third place finish in 2008 and 2011. Additionally, Scherer took home the individual smallbore national championship in 2010 and 2012.

The participating field of eight includes West Virginia, Kentucky, Alaska-Fairbanks, Jacksonville State, Army, Nebraska and Air Force. Hosted by Ohio State, the championships will be held March 8-9 at the Converse Hall and French Field House on the Ohio State campus in Columbus, Ohio.

The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site. The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams.

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) will be held Friday, March 8. Individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) will be held Saturday, March 9. The overall team champion will be determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball