Rifle Earns 12th Straight NCAA Bid

Feb. 21, 2018

FORT WORTH - The TCU Rifle team will head to the NCAA Rifle Championships for the 12th consecutive season. The event is slated to run from March 9-10 at McAlister Field House on the The Citadel campus in Charleston, S.C. 

TCU has put together another impressive regular season in program history. The Horned Frogs took home its third-straight Patriot Rifle Conference Championship. TCU fired the highest NCAA Qualifier score (4,712) to secure its spot in the field of eight.

The Frogs have put up solid numbers all season long, surpassing the 4,700 point plateau in all but one match. TCU is one of just three teams in the NCAA with an aggregate average over 4,700. As a team, the Frogs are averaging 2,378 in air rifle and 2,336 in smallbore.

This season has seen the Frogs fire eight of the top 10 air rifle scores in program history, in addition to four of the top 10 smallbore scores.

TCU has received solid contributions up and down the lineup all season long. The Horned Frogs boast three of the top 10 season-average smallbore shooters and four of the top 11 air rifle shooters. Mindy Miles (4th, 1,181) and Rachel Garner (7th, 1,177) rank in the top 10 nationally in aggregate score. Miles paces TCU in air rifle and ranks second with a 597 average, while Garner is TCU’s top smallbore shooter with a 584 average, a mark that ranks sixth nationally.

Air Force, Alaska-Fairbanks, Kentucky, Murray State, Nebraska, Ohio State and West Virginia round out the field of eight.

The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site. The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams.

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) will be held Friday, March 9. Individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) will be held Saturday, March 10. The overall team champion will be determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution.

TCU won the national title under head coach Karen Monez in 2010 and 2012. Additionally, the squad claimed the air rifle National Championship in both 2010 and 2012, while taking home the smallbore National Championship in 2013. Sarah Scherer is the only individual to win national titles, doing so in smallbore in 2010 and 2012.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball