Rifle Earns 11th Straight NCAA Berth

Feb. 22, 2017

FORT WORTH - The TCU Rifle team will head to the NCAA Rifle Championships for the 11th consecutive season. The event is slated to run from March 10-11 at French Field House on the Ohio State campus in Columbus, Ohio. 

TCU has put together the most impressive regular season in program history. The Horned Frogs finished the 2016-17 slate with a 13-0 mark, including its second-straight Patriot Rifle Conference Championship.

The Frogs have put up solid numbers all season long, surpassing the 4,700 point plateau in all but one match. As a team, the Frogs are averaging 2,374 in air rifle and 2,338 in smallbore.

TCU has received solid contributions up and down the lineup all season long. The Horned Frogs boast four of the top nine season-average smallbore shooters and two of the top five aggregate score shooters in the country. Ariana Grabowski paces the Frogs in smallbore with a 584 season average, while Mindy Miles leads the NCAA with a 596 air rifle season average.

Alaska-Fairbanks, Kentucky, Murray State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Air Force and West Virginia round out the field of eight.

The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site. The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams.

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) will be held Friday, March 10. Individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) will be held Saturday, March 11. The overall team champion will be determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution.

TCU won the national title under head coach Karen Monez in 2010 and 2012. Additionally, the squad claimed the air rifle National Championship in both 2010 and 2012, while taking home the smallbore National Championship in 2013. Sarah Scherer is the only individual to win national titles, doing so in smallbore in 2010 and 2012.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball