TCU Places 27 On Academic All-Big 12 Team

Feb. 21, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The 2017 Academic All-Big 12 Swimming and Diving Team was announced Tuesday. 27 Horned Frogs made up the list, marking the most in TCU's Big 12 history.

First team honorees on the men's squad include Connor Dobbs, Alex Garriga, Jack McLaughlin, Jake Powell, John Smith, Matt Spallas, Jakub Swierczynski and Ryan Whelan.

Academic All-Big 12 First Team accolades on the women's side featured Ashley Dyke, Maddie Johnson, Bryn Lohrberg, Catherine Maxey, Grace Newell, Ty Sides and Rileigh Thornton.

Second team honorees include Destin Hall, Chris Hearl, Carlos Hunnicutt, Rhory Legendre, Weston Miller, Garrett Hills, John Remetta, Taylor Gould, Maddie Ibrahim, Devin Newton, Ally Robertson and Micaela Roemer.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball