TCU with 22 Named to Academic All-Big 12 Teams

Lizzy Oster was one of 22 TCU swimmers and divers to earn Academic All-Big 12 honors.

Lizzy Oster was one of 22 TCU swimmers and divers to earn Academic All-Big 12 honors.

Feb. 26, 2013

FORT WORTH – The Big 12 Conference announced the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 squad Tuesday which featured 22 members of TCU’s swimming and diving programs. The TCU men’s team saw eight members honored, seven on the first team and one on the second team, and the Horned Frogs women had 14 honored with 12 making the first team.

The league named a total of 98 student athletes to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 first and second teams.

The TCU men’s team seven Academic All-Big 12 first team honorees were Sebastian Arispe, Ricky Bradley, Ryan Hall, Nelson Head, Josh Mangus, Ryker Saunders and Joseph Stegeman. Devin Price was named to the Academic All-Big 12 second team.

The Horned Frogs women’s team’s 12 first teamers were Ashley Alspaugh, Courtney Cheek, Emily Rose Creighton, Michelle Fleming, Gabi Korac, Kyra Lindholm, Katie Lybbert, Lauren Mikulecky, Lizzy Oster, Sabine Rasch, Parris Schoppa and Mackenzie Schuler. Second team selections were seniors Madi Rupp and Katie Scarsella. All five members of TCU’s women’s senior class made either the first or second team.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher (either cumulative or the two previous semesters) and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines