Horned Frogs Earn All-MWC Honors

Sophomore Laszlo Gyurko

Sophomore Laszlo Gyurko

March 1, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The TCU men's and women's swimming and diving teams had 14 student-athletes earn 24 All-Mountain West Conference selections, the league office announced Monday. The men's team placed fifth at this year's conference championships, while the women finished in seventh place.

To earn a spot on the all-conference team, an individual must place in the top six of a men's event and the top eight for women at the MWC Championships. For both the men's and women's relays, the all-conference team consists of the top three finishers in each race.

Ten swimmers on the men's side earned 15 selections, sophomore Laszlo Gyurko, who earned accolades in four events. Gyurko, a native of Szekszard, Hungary, earned his awards in the 100- and 200-backstroke, while also leading off the Horned Frogs 200-medley and 400-free relays that set new TCU records last week.

Senior Josh Bagby finished his senior campaign with three nods from the conference office, earning all-MWC recognition for his efforts in the 100-free and as the anchor to the Horned Frogs' record-breaking 200-medley and 400-free relays.

Junior Kyle Callens walked away from Oklahoma with more than just his one-meter bronze medal. The Deer Park, Texas native also garnered all-MWC honors for his efforts from the one-meter, as well as the three-meter springboard. Gold medalist Edgar Crespo gained recognition from the league in two different strokes, earning honors in the 100-breast, while also taking considerations in the 100-fly.

Other men to earn honors from the MWC include junior Jeff Gettel (200-back), Rourke Barrett (200-free), Ben Iannacone (200-free), Friedrich Grott (200-fly) and Garrett Weaver (200-fly).

TCU's relay squads were recognized for their silver medal efforts with all-MWC accolades. Gyurko, Crespo, junior Edgar Peyro and Bagby joined to for the 200-medley relay, while the 400-free team was made up of Gyurko, Iannacone, Barrett and Bagby.

On the women's side, senior Stephanie Futscher picked up her fourth-straight conference award in the 200-fly. Junior Maria Paula Alvarez garnered 500-free honors, while sophomore Zrinka Korac (100-fly) and sophomore Lindsey Stevens (1650-free) round out the squad.

2010 All-MWC Selections

Josh Bagby (100-yard freestyle)
Rourke Barrett (200-yard freestyle)
Kyle Callens (1-meter springboard, 3-meter springboard)
Edgar Crespo (100-yard breaststroke, 100-yard butterfly)
Jeff Gettel (200-yard backstroke)
Friedrich Grott (200-yard butterfly)
Laszlo Gyurko (100-yard backstroke, 200-yard backstroke)
Ben Iannacone (200-yard freestyle)
Garrett Weaver (200-yard butterfly)
400-yard freestyle relay (Laszlo Gyurko, Ben Iannacone, Rourke Barrett, Josh Bagby)
200-yard medley relay (Laszlo Gyurko, Edgar Crespo, Edgar Peyro, Josh Bagby)

Maria Paula Alvarez (500-yard freestyle)
Stephanie Futscher (200-yard butterfly)
Zrinka Korac (100-yard butterfly)
Lindsey Stevens (1650-yard freestyle)



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines