TCU S&D Hands Out Team Awards

Cooper Robinson

April 11, 2013

FORT WORTH – The TCU swimming and diving teams presented their end-of-the-season awards this past weekend.

Cooper Robinson and Katie Scarsella was tabbed as the TCU Swimming MVPs. Robinson became TCU swimming and diving’s first Big 12 champion with his win in the 200 back. He also earned All-Big 12 honors in the 100 back and 200 IM. Scarsella earned second-team All-Big 12 for her school record-breaking performance in the 200 free and also got All-Big 12 in the 200 free relay. She was a member of the school-record breaking quartet in the 800 free relay, too.

TCU’s Diving MVPs were Ricky Bradley and Katie Lybbert. Bradley was the only men’s diver in the league to earn All-Big 12 honors on all three boards at the conference championships, with a bronze medal on platform being the highlight. Lybbert was an NCAA Zone Diving Championships qualifier and became the fourth women’s diver in TCU history to surpass the 300-point mark on 3-meter at SMU.

The Horned Frogs named three swimmers for Most Outstanding Swimmer awards with Adam Szilagyi being honored on the men’s side and Ali Bleasdell and Sabine Rasch earning recognition on the women’s squad. Szilagyi became the school record holder in the 100 back at the conference championships and recorded 10 NCAA ‘B’ cuts in his individual events throughout the season. Bleasdell was one of the highest scoring individuals at the Big 12 Championships with a third place finish in the 200 fly, fourth place finishes and school records in the 200 and 400 IM and school records as part of the 200 and 400 medley relay teams. Rasch continued to be a force in the sprint events as the team leader and All-Big 12 honoree in the 50 and 100 free and being part of TCU’s top 200, 400 and 800 free relays in 2012-13.

The Most Valuable Team Contributor Award goes to the student-athletes who have made an impact in and out of the pool. Nelson Head and Devin Price of the men’s squad were bestowed the award. Head was a member of TCU’s deep backstroke group in the pool, and served as president of the TCU Student-Athlete Advisory Committee out of the pool. Price was one of the Frogs’ leaders in the sprint events and the anchor for four of TCU’s relay teams. Out of the pool, Price was the headman for the “Ball Crew” at TCU volleyball matches with the role of assembling the group to go with training and assigning duties.

Ryan Wilcox and Parris Schoppa were given the Horned Frog Determination Award. The duo both overcame injuries from the off-season to get back into the pool. Wilcox made his return in January and Schoppa was able to manage her injuries throughout the whole season. Both scored important points for their teams in the sprint events at the Big 12 Championships with Schoppa earning two All-Big 12 honors.

TCU presented three swimmers with the Unselfish Team Player Award, given to the swimmers who showed the willingness to go into a variety of races for the benefit of the team. The honorees were Grayson Whitten on the men’s team and Emily Rose Creighton and Michelle Fleming on the women’s squad.

The Step Up Award is presented to the swimmers who could be counted on for big performances in big races. This season, that award went to Thor Stenfjord on the men’s team and Mikayla Winkler on the women’s squad. Both were important members of their respective distance groups.

Corey Nix and Sara Brzozowski were named the Freshman of the Year for the men’s and women’s team, respectively. Nix emerged as TCU’s top sprinter at the end of the season with many big performances in the Big 12 Championships, including a third place in the 100 fly and a 20.00 in the men’s 50 free. Brzozowski took down the school records in the 1,000 and 1,650 free while earning All-Big 12 honors in the 500 and 1,650 free.

The TCU Spirit Award was presented to Ross Van Allen. The senior was always among the most vocal Horned Frogs during meets, and was the leader of the TCU men’s pre-meet breakout.

There were also multiple Breakout Swim Awards presented to student-athletes for particular individual swims. Honorees on the men’s side were Mitch Adshead for his 400 IM at the USA Winter National Championships and 200 breast at the Big 12 Championships, Luiz Azarias for the 200 fly at the Big 12 Championships and Nick Kramer for his 200 breast at the Big 12 Championships. Women’s team honors all happend at the Big 12 Championships and went to Ashley Alspaugh in the 100 and 200 back, Ali Bleasdell for the 100 fly and 400 IM, Kyra Lindholm for the 200 back and Katie Scarsella in the 200 free.

Numerous staff members were recognized for their work behind-the-scenes during the season, and are listed below:
Graduate Assistants:
Ben Biefnes and Tara Hahto
Max Ozer
Cameron Pulsifer and Joel Watts
Strength and Conditioning:
Todd Kensler
Greg Featherson, Andrea Nordmann, Stephanie Key, Michael O’Keefe and Jessica Hazard
Matt Lewis and Ana Auger-Crossman
Academic Support:
Judy Golden and Nancy Weiser
Senior Associate Athletic Director:
Jack Hesselbrock
Administrative Assistant:
Laura Weisbrod
Business Office:
Tommy Love and Jeanette Bradley



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball