TCU Defeats Kansas

Gabi Korac won the 200-yard breaststroke in TCU's season opener

Oct. 17, 2013

Complete Results

FORT WORTH, Texas – The TCU women’s swimming and diving team opened its 2013-14 season with a win against Big 12 foe Kansas on Thursday afternoon at the TCU Recreation Center Natatorium. The Horned Frogs posted a combined team score of 176 to the Jayhawks 124.

Sophomore Mikayla Winkler was the top finisher for TCU, earning 18 points with wins in the 200-yard freestyle (1:51.99) and the 500-yard freestyle (4:59.79). Winkler also swam the first leg of the 200-yard freestyle relay team – including Hanna Briant, Mackenzie Schuler and Julie Grace Sanders – that won the event with a 1:36.82.

Overall, the Horned Frogs picked up 11 event titles, including the 200-yard freestyle relay win. Sophomore Sara Brzozowski placed first in the 1000-yard freestyle with a 10:13.09 while classmate Catherine Rash won the 200-yard butterfly with a 2:03.63. Senior Gabi Korac won the 200-yard breaststroke with a 2:19.26. TCU also picked up a trio of wins in the pool from newcomers, sophomore transfer Lyndsie Gibson won the 100-yard backstroke with a 57.07 while freshman Julie Grace Sanders won the 50-yard freestyle with a 23.89. Freshman Hannelore Strash also earned a win in her first collegiate competition with a 56.40 in the 100-yard butterfly.

In diving competition, sophomore Kristen Connolly earned the meet sweep, winning both the 1-meter (8.00) and 3-meter (8.00) boards.

The Frogs return to the pool on Saturday, Oct. 19 when the full team hosts North Carolina at the TCU Recreation Center Natatorium beginning at 12 p.m.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball