TCU track and field team opens 2006 indoor campaign at Arkansas Invitational

TCU track and field head coach Darryl Anderson

TCU track and field head coach Darryl Anderson

Jan. 13, 2006

FT. WORTH, Texas - The TCU track and field team will open the 2006 indoor track season Friday when it competes in the Arkansas Invitational, hosted by the defending national champion Arkansas Razorbacks. Events will be held at the Randal Tyson Track Center in Fayetteville.

The 12 teams competing in the meet include Harding, Jackson State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri Southern, Neosho County Community College, Oklahoma, Oklahoma Baptist, Oklahoma State, Ole Miss, TCU, and Texas A&M.

With one full year at the helm of the TCU track and field program, head coach Darryl Anderson is optimistic about the upcoming campaign.

"We're looking forward to competing Friday and excited to get the season started," coach Anderson said. "We have been training very hard. We have a system in place now so this meet will allow us to take a look at what we have and who competes well."

The Flyin' Frogs are young, yet ladened with talent with Kip Kangogo, Jackson Langat, Katrina Zielinski and Calandra Stewart at the forefront in their respective divisions.

In addition, TCU returns three of its four student-athletes (Marquita Davis, Nathandra John and Deborah Jones) from last year's All-American 4x400 meter relay team on the women's side.

The shot put is the first field event of the day and is slated to begin at noon Central time. The 3,000 meters will signify the start of the running events at 3 p.m. and the finals will start at 5:25 p.m. with the distance medley relay.



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines