Flyin' Frogs Return to the Track on Saturday

Jan. 17, 2002

The TCU Flyin' Frogs track and field team opens its 2002 indoor season on Saturday, January 19, when the Frogs travel to Norman, Oklahoma to take part in the Oklahoma Track Classic. Field events begin at 10 a.m. at the Mosier Indoor Facility, while the first event on the track is the 60-meter hurdles for women, scheduled for 1 p.m.

Joining the Frogs in the meet are Texas A&M from the Big 12 Conference, junior college powerhouse Barton County (Kansas) and Oklahoma, the host institution.

"The first meet of the season is a benchmark for where we are in terms of fitness," said TCU head coach Monte Stratton. "This meet gives us a starting point to see what we need to work on to accomplish our goals. Obviously, the big goal is to get our athletes qualified for nationals, but that is unlikely in the first meet of the season. We want to stay healthy, start preparing for the conference meet and start preparing for the national meet. We're looking forward to seeing our new people run."

On Saturday, the Frogs sprint team will feature Maxwell Booker, Cleavon Dillon, Michael Frater, Jermaine Joseph, Fred Turner and Demario Wesley in the 60-meter dash, Booker, Frater, Joseph, Turner, Steve Slowly and Aundre Edwards in the 200, and Brian Bell, Kimton Coleman, Terrance McBryde and Kendall Pyant in the 400-meter dash. Jason Morgan will compete at 600 yards and Justin Speer will compete in the mile. Eliud Njubi, Herbert Mwangi, Stephen Goff, Bryan Katchinska and Steven Lenney are slated for the 3,000-meter run. The Frogs will also enter a team in the 4x400 meter relay.

In the field events, Coleman, Dillon, Edwards, Brandal Lawrence and Mark Lettieri will vie for the long jump title. Lawrence will also compete in the triple jump while Cody Koontz will take part in the pole vault competition.

On the women's side, Monica Twum, Chaunte Baldwin, Tiffany Starts and LaToya White are entered the 60-meter dash. Twum, Baldwin and Starts will also run in the 200, along with Chanel Hewitt. Larissa Bakasa and Tarieka Paige will compete at 400 meters, Perhona Tomlin is set for the 600-yard dash and Justina Malone will compete at 800 meters. Cindy Dietrich and Alexis Sanchez will vie for the mile title, while Georgeanne Biancardi, Jamie Ford, Shannon McKinney, Robin Schacht and Katie Singleton will compete at 3,000 meters. Esther Jackson is slated to run in the 60-meter hurdles. The Frogs will also compete in the 4x400-meter relay.

In the women's field events, TCU will be represented by Esther Jackson and LaToya White in the long jump.

The Frogs men's team begins the season as the fifth-ranked team in the country, according to the first Trackwire online rankings, released earlier this week. Following its narrow win over TCU at the NCAA outdoor championships last year, Tennessee remains atop the collegiate heap, followed by fellow Southeastern Conference schools Alabama, LSU and Arkansas, according to Trackwire online. The Trackwire 25 is a power ranking of NCAA Division I track & field teams. This ranking's methodology takes into account a variety of statistical predictors and is intended to project the outcome of the NCAA Division I track & field championships. The scores provided with the rankings indicate each team's projected score based on formcharts for each NCAA event.



1. Tennessee 44

2. Alabama 41

3. LSU 39

Arkansas 39

5. TCU 33

6. Florida 25

Michigan 25

8. Eastern Michigan 24

9. Stanford 18

George Mason 18



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball