TCU Track & Field Earns All-Conference Accolades

Junior Cameron Tabor

Feb. 28, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas - After claiming seven individual conference titles and a team crown at the 2012 Mountain West Conference Indoor Championships last weekend, the TCU track and field program was honored with the announcement of 22 student-athletes listed on the league's Men's and Women's All-Mountain West Conference Indoor teams.

All-Conference selections are awarded to the top three finishers in each event at the MW Championships. Among the student-athletes earning recognition, TCU head coach Darryl Anderson was also touted as the MW Women’s Coach of the Year.

Senior Whitney Gipson stood out for the Frogs over the weekend, earning All-MW honors for winning the gold medal in the women's long jump and placing third in the 200 meters. The North Richland Hills, Texas, native nailed her best leap on her fifth attempt, soaring to the tune of 21-10 ¾ feet. Her mark is the best in the nation this season and it broke the MW Championships record for the event. She also set a new TCU program benchmark, surpassing Donna Thomas' jump of 21-5 ¼ feet from the 1985 season.

Gipson became the second Frog to ever win two indoor long jump titles, joining 2003 and 2004 Conference USA champion Aundre Edwards. Freshman Lorraine Ugen garnered silver medal honors behind Gipson after flying an NCAA automatic mark and personal-best leap of 21-4 ¼ feet (6.51m), while also earning all-MW accolades for her third place finish in the 60 meters.

Junior Chaniqua Corinealdi also earned a pair of conference nods Tuesday, earning considerations for claiming gold in the 60 meters and 200 meters. The Killeen, Texas product led the way in the 60 meters with her fastest time of 2012 at 7.32 seconds. In the 200 meters, Corinealdi paced the field with a time of 23.61 seconds for the title.

Freshman Orlene Parris collected All-MW honors for her gold medal performance in the women’s high jump, clearing 5-9 ¼ feet (1.76m) to become the first female Frog to ever win a conference title in the event and joins Jason Howard as the only other TCU athlete to win high jump gold.

Senior Quinterra Charles earned All-MW considerations after finishing second in the women's 400 meters and as a member of TCU's 4x400 squad. Junior Larrisa Matthews made the all-MW team in the women’s 60-meter hurdles for the third-straight year, finishing second in the finals. Briyanni Thomas, Neferteria Hall and Ashley Collins were also honored, collecting league recognition as members of the women's 4x400.

In the distance events, junior Agnes Kemboi picked up silver medal standards in the women's 5K with a time of 17:00.69, while senior Kelly Dawson finished third overall in the mile run. From the infield, junior Kelsey Samuels placed second overall in the women’s shot put, boasting a top mark of 50-6 ¾ feet (15.41m), while newcomer Megan Smith followed for bronze medal honors with a toss of 50-3 ¼ feet (15.32m).

On the men’s side, Charles Silmon received all-league honors after claiming gold medal accolades in the men's 60 meters and 200 meters. The Waco, Texas product had to overcome adversity to win the 60 meters with a time of 6.72 seconds, while sophomore Jeffrey Josephs claimed 60-meter bronze at 6.87 seconds. In the 200 meters, Silmon torched the field with a personal-best time of 21.04 seconds. Sophomore Lavon Collins claimed league honors for his third-place finish in the 200 meters, as well as teaming up with Narada Jackson, OJ Stoneham and Joshua Washington for silver in the 4x400 relay.

Junior Cameron Tabor put an exclamation point on his tremendous indoor season, capturing the men’s shot put title with a top throw of 59-1 ¼ feet (18.01m). The conference title marks the fourth shot put win of the season for the Norman, Okla., native and the first indoor league crown ever by a Frog in the event. Tabor also earned All-MW marks for his third-place outcome in the weight throw.

In the field events, senior Cameron Parker picked up his second league honor for his performance in the triple jump, while freshman Ramone Bailey pounced to a third-place finish in the long jump.

Darryl Anderson – Mountain West Women’s Coach of the Year

Ramone Bailey (Long Jump)
Lavon Collins (200 Meters)
Jeffrey Josephs (60 Meters)
Cameron Parker (Triple Jump)
Charles Silmon (60 Meters, 200 Meters)
Cameron Tabor (Shot Put, Weight Throw)
4x400 Relay (Narada Jackson, Lavon Collins, OJ Stoneham, Joshua Washington)

Quinterra Charles (400 Meters)
Chaniqua Corinealdi (60 Meters, 200 Meters)
Kelly Dawson (Mile Run)
Whitney Gipson (Long Jump, 200 Meters)
Agnes Kemboi (5K Run)
Larissa Matthews (60-Meter Hurdles)
Orelene Parris (High Jump)
Kelsey Samuels (Shot Put)
Megan Smith (Shot Put)
Lorraine Ugen (Long Jump, 60 Meters)
4x400 Relay (Briyanni Thomas, Quinterra Charles, Neferteria Hall, Ashley Collins)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball