Kangogo selected to MWC 10th Anniversary Team

Kip Kangogo

Kip Kangogo

July 23, 2008

MWC Anniversary Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Former TCU distance runner Kip Kangogo was selected on Wednesday as part of the Mountain West Conference 10th Anniversary Men's Cross Country Team.

The anniversary team was selected by a combined panel of media, institutional and conference personnel and on-line fan poll. In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been a first team all-Mountain West selection at least once in their careers.

One of TCU's most prolific distance runners, Kangogo won the 2006 Mountain West Conference Indoor title in the 3,000 meters with a time of 8:19.36.

The Kabarnet, Kenya, native owns the indoor school record in the 3,000 meters, outdoor 5,000 meters and was a member of the distance medley relay team that set the outdoor school record with a time of 9:36.14.

After sitting out the 2004 cross country and track seasons due to NCAA transfer rules, Kangogo qualified for the 2005 NCAA Cross Country Championships where he finished 33rd overall. Overall as an individual, Kangogo was a five-time conference champion between Conference USA and the Mountain West Conference.

On Tuesday, former TCU football player Chase Ortiz was selected to the 10th Anniversary Football Team.

Anniversary teams will be chosen for each of the 19 conference-sponsored sports during the 2008-09 seasons in celebration of the Mountain West's 10th anniversary.



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines