TCU Blows By Texas Arlington 87-58

Nov. 22, 2003

Final Stats

FORT WORTH, Texas - It took the TCU Horned Frogs just six seconds to score their first points of the 2003-04 season, and the Frogs never lost that lead in cruising to an 87-58 victory over the Texas-Arlington Mavericks on Saturday night at Daniel-Meyer Coliseum. The win was the Frogs' 23rd straight home-opening victory and moved TCU to 1-0 on the season, while UTA fell to 0-1.

TCU raced out to a 44-27 lead at intermission. Junior transfer Marcus Shropshire led the Frogs with 13 first-half points on 5-of-6 shooting. Shropshire was 3-for-4 from three-point range and added six of his team-high eight assists in the stanza. Of TCU's 44 points in the first half, 26 came via players off the bench. The Horned Frogs sizzled from the field in the game's opening 20 minutes, shooting 54.8 percent (17-for-31) from the field, including 54.5 percent (6-for-11) from beyond the arc.

For the game, TCU held UTA to just 29.8 percent shooting (15-for-51) and 58 points, both lows in the Neil Dougherty coaching era. In addition, the Horned Frogs forced the Mavericks into 24 turnovers. TCU scored twice as many points than the Mavericks did in the paint (44-22).

On the evening, four Horned Frogs reached double figures, led by Shropshire and Chudi Chinweze, who each tallied 14 points. Corey Santee added 12 points, while Corey Valsin chipped in with 10. Chinweze and Marcus Sloan led the team with six rebounds apiece, as the Frogs won the battle on the boards 40-36.

Eleven different Frogs saw action in the game's first seven minutes, and six Frogs made their official debuts. Junior Aaron Curtis (Grand Prairie, Texas) and freshman Femi Ibikunle (Lagos, Nigeria) received started nods, while Shropshire (Grand Prairie, Texas) and freshmen Neil P. Dougherty (Fort Worth, Texas), Blake Adams (Houston, Texas) and Art Pierce (Tyler, Texas) provided minutes off the bench.

TCU's next game is in Daniel-Meyer Coliseum on Saturday, Nov. 29 against the Tulsa Golden Hurricane. The tip off time for that contest has been changed to 8:05 p.m.

TCU: Corey Santee, Nucleus Smith, Aaron Curtis, Corey Valsin, Femi Ibikunle
UTA: Keith Howell, Donny Beacham, Derrick Obasohan, Kenneth Henderson, Roy Johnson



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball