Brodziansky Makes Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award Top 10

Feb. 9, 2018

FORT WORTH, Texas – TCU senior Vladimir Brodziansky was named one of 10 candidates for the 2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award.

Named after Hall of Famer and three-time NCAA Champion Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the annual honor in its fourth year recognizes the top centers in men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

This season, Brodziansky is averaging a team-best 15.2 points along with 5.0 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per game. The 6-feet 11-inch Slovakia native has scored in double figures in each of his last 15 games and is shooting 57.0 percent from the field.

The recognition for Brodziansky comes one day after being named one of 10 finalists for the Senior CLASS Award. Brodziansky was a Preseason All-Big 12 Conference selection in October. Awards earned last season were, the Big 12 All-Defensive Team, All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors by the Associated Press, NABC All-District 8 and the NIT All-Tournament Team.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar played for legendary coach and Hall of Famer John Wooden at UCLA from 1966-1969. He is a three-time NCAA Champion who earned numerous accolades including three-time Final Four Most Outstanding Player, three-time National College Player of the Year and three-time Consensus First-Team All-American (1967-1969).

The rest of the 10 candidates are Mohamed Bamba (Texas), Tyler Davis (Texas A&M), Angel Delgado (Seton Hall), Isaac Haas (Purdue), Ethan Happ (Wisconsin), Jaren Jackson Jr. (Michigan St.), Jock Landale (Saint Mary’s), Brandon McCoy (UNLV) and Thomas Welsh (UCLA).

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee for the 2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award. The winner will be honored at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 6, 2018. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Karl Malone Power Forward Award. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball