Dixon Named Coach of the Year Finalist

March 27, 2017

 NIT Press Conference Photo Gallery | Complete List

NEW YORK – TCU head coach Jamie Dixon was named one of 20 finalists for the 2017 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award on Monday.

In his first season as head coach at his alma mater, Dixon has led the Frogs to a 22-12 record after a 12-21 2015-16 campaign. It is the third-best turnaround in school history. TCU’s 22 wins is tied for the sixth-most in school history.

This season, the Frogs set school records for the most wins in the Big 12 Conference (six) and their highest Big 12 Conference finish (eighth). TCU also defeated a No. 1 ranked team for the first time in school history when it defeated Kansas, 85-82, on March 9, in the quarterfinals of the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship.

On Tuesday, TCU will play in its first-ever National Invitation Tournament semifinal against UCF at 8 p.m. CT on ESPN.

Dixon has been named a national coach of the year four times in his career, including the Jim Phelan Award in 2010. He was also honored by Sporting News in 2011, USA Basketball in 2010 and Naismith in 2009.

The Jim Phelan award is presented annually to the top coach in division I men’s basketball. The recipient of the 2017 Phelan award will be announced in Phoenix, Ariz., site of the Final Four.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball