Frog Student-Athletes Set for Commencement

Former TCU football standout Tejay Johnson

May 11, 2012

FORT WORTH – A group of 54 current and former Horned Frog student-athletes are expected to earn TCU diplomas Saturday during Spring Commencement exercises at Daniel-Meyer Coliseum. Sixteen of TCU’s athletic programs will see at least one student-athlete receive a diploma.

The spring 2012 group is highlighted by a number of individuals who either have already concluded or are still compiling accomplished careers as TCU student-athletes. Twenty-four Frogs who have earned All-Mountain West Conference honors at least once in their careers are included, as well as seven All-Americans.

The Frog football team leads all programs with 11 graduates, including four players who earned All-MW mention at least once in their careers. Headlining the football class is Tejay Johnson, a former consensus first-team All-American who was one of three finalists for the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top defensive back.

Joining the list of major award winners turned graduates is Whitney Gipson, the 2012 NCAA Indoor Women’s Long Jump. She is among a group of four women’s track and field athletes that also includes 4x100-meter relay All-American Teneshia Peart. Other All-Americans featured include Mark Barnes (men’s track and field), Sean Zurko (men’s track and field), Courtney Chown (equestrian), Mattie Brogdon (rifle) and Jordan Calhoun (soccer).

Additional standouts scheduled to receive degrees Saturday include: Johan de Beer, who recently became the first men’s golfer in TCU history to be named all-conference four times in a career; Hank Thorns, who in 2012 earned the first first-team all-conference honor for the men’s basketball team in 12 years; and Jordan Calhoun, the all-time leading scorer in the history of the TCU soccer program.

Also among the group were several academic standouts, including Jennifer Oster (women’s swimming and diving) and Jack O’Brien (men’s track & field), who were bestowed with TCU’s Pop Boone Awards in 2012 as the top Frog female and male student-athletes.

Included below is a complete listing of TCU’s spring class of graduates:

Women’s Basketball
Micah Garoutte
Antoinette Thompson

Courtney Chown
Taylor Frederick
Lyndsi Hardin
Victoria Lee

Women’s Golf
Brooke Beeler
Rachel Raastad

Mattie Brogdon

Women’s Soccer
Kadye Bowman
Jordan Calhoun
Kaylie Garcia
Lindsay Holmes
Hannah Kunnemann
Chelsey Wilgenburg

Women’s Swimming & Diving
Ashley Bolin
Jennifer Oster
Shannon Regan
Kaitlyn Vann
Lyndsey Stevens

Women’s Tennis
Maria Babanova
Gaby Mastromarino

Women’s Track & Field
Lilian Chevalier
Kelly Dawson
Whitney Gipson
Teneshia Peart

Kylie Pont

Ben Caruthers
Jason Coats
Jantzen Witte

Men’s Basketball
Hank Thorns

Brian Alexis
Logan Brock
Jeremy Coleman
Corey Fuller
Antoine Hicks
Tejay Johnson
Anson Kelton
Justin Rose
Chris Scott
Daniel Shelley
David Stoltzman

Men’s Golf
Max Bichsel
Johan de Beer
Matt Johnson

Men’s Swimming & Diving
Jeff Gettel
Scott Smidlein
Theo Trotman

Men’s Tennis
Paul Chappell

Men’s Track & Field
Mark Barnes
Zane Hill
Jack O’Brien
Tim Wang
Sean Zurko



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball