Brodziansky Named to Abdul-Jabbar Award Watch List

Oct. 20, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas – Senior Vladimir Brodziansky was one of 20 players named to the watch list for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award. 

Named after hall of famer and three-time NCAA champion Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the annual honor in its fourth year recognizes the top centers in men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Brodziansky, a second-team all-conference selection at the end of last season, averaged 14.1 points, 5.7 rebounds and 2.1 blocks per game for TCU which went 24-15 and won the NIT. The Prievidza, Slovakia native totaled 82 blocked shots, the second most in school history for a single season. Other postseason awards for Brodziansky last season were the Big 12 All-Defensive Team, All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors by the Associated Press, NABC All-District 8 and the NIT All-Tournament Team.

The Abdul-Jabbar award is the second preseason recognition for Brodziansky, who was named to the All-Big 12 Preseason Team.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar played for legendary coach and Hall of Famer John Wooden at UCLA from 1966-1969. He is a three-time NCAA Champion who earned numerous accolades including three-time Final Four Most Outstanding Player, three-time National College Player of the Year and three-time Consensus First-Team All-American (1967-1969).

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award will be narrowed down to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 6, 2018.

Previous winners of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award include Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016) and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015). For more information on the 2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, log onto

2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Candidates
Dusan Ristic - Arizona
Austin Wiley - Auburn
Kingsley Okoroh - California
Tacko Fall - Central Florida
Marques Bolden - Duke
John Egbunu - Florida
Jessie Govan - Georgetown
Ben Lammers - Georgia Tech
Nick Richards - Kentucky
Omer Yurtseven - NC State
Isaac Haas - Purdue
Jock Landale - Saint Mary's
Angel Delgado - Seton Hall
Michael Humphrey - Stanford
Vladimir Brodziansky - TCU
Mohamed Bamba - Texas
Tyler Davis - Texas A&M
Thomas Welsh - UCLA
Chimezie Metu - USC
Ethan Happ - Wisconsin
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball