Cannon and Vaitai Headed to the Super Bowl

Halapoulivaati Vaitai
Jan. 22, 2018

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Offensive tackles Marcus Cannon and Halapoulivaati Vaitai will represent TCU when they head to Super Bowl LII as members of the New England Patriots and Philadelphia Eagles, respectively. 

This will be the eighth Super Bowl in the last 10 years that TCU has had at least one player in the game. Nine different Horned Frogs have been on Super Bowl teams in that stretch.

Cannon, New England's starting right tackle before being sidelined by injury, is making his fourth Super Bowl appearance in his seven years with the Patriots. Cannon's four Super Bowl trips tie Kenneth Davis (Buffalo Bills) for the most in TCU history.

A four-year letterman (2007-10) at TCU, Cannon was a three-time all-conference offensive tackle who earned All-America honors as a senior on the Horned Frogs' Rose Bowl championship team. He was also all-conference in track and field, finishing second in the shot put at the 2009 Mountain West Championships with a mark of 54-10.

Vaitai is the Eagles' starting left tackle. He has started the last 11 games and 12 overall while playing in all 18 contests. The Haltom, Texas, native has started 16 of the 23 games he's played in his first two seasons in Philadelphia.

Vaitai was a two-time second-team All-Big 12 selection, starting 30 games in his TCU career (2012-15). He started all 13 games at right tackle as a junior in 2014, before moving to left tackle his senior year. He was instrumental in TCU's offense ranking among the national leaders each of his last two seasons.

Cannon and Vaitai are part of 28 Horned Frogs to be on a Super Bowl team.

Former TCU Football Players on Super Bowl Teams
Lyle Blackwood - Miami (Super Bowl XVII, XIX)
Josh Boyce - New England (Super Bowl XLIX)
Larry Brown - Dallas (Super Bowl XXVII, XXVIII, XXX)
Norm Bulaich - Baltimore (Super Bowl V)
Marcus Cannon - New England (Super Bowl XLVI, XLIX, LI, LII)
Tommy Joe Crutcher - Green Bay (Super Bowl I, II)
Charles Davis - Pittsburgh (Super Bowl IX)
Kenneth Davis - Buffalo (Super Bowl XXV, XXVI, XXVII, XXVIII)
Norm Evans - Miami (Super Bowl VI, VII, VIII)
Clint Gresham - Seattle (Super Bowl XLVIII, XLIX)
Sherrill Headrick - Kansas City (Super Bowl I)
Gaylon Hyder - St. Louis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
Cedric James - New England (Super Bowl XXXIX)
Colin Jones - Carolina (Super Bowl 50)
Bob Lilly - Dallas (Super Bowl V, VI)
James Maness - Chicago (Super Bowl XX)
Mickey McCarty - Kansas City (Super Bowl IV)
Guy Morriss - Philadelphia (Super Bowl XV), New England (Super Bowl XX)
Marshall Newhouse - Green Bay (Super Bowl XLV)
Bobby Pollard - Seattle (Super Bowl XL)
Jared Retkofsky - Pittsburgh (Super Bowl XLIII)
Barret Robbins - Oakland (Super Bowl XXXVII)
Bo Schobel - Indianapolis (Super Bowl XLI)
Michael Toudouze - Indianapolis (Super Bowl XLI, XLIV)
Greg Townsend - Los Angeles Raiders (Super Bowl XVIII)
Ryan Tucker - St. Louis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
Halapoulivaati Vaitai - Philadelphia (Super Bowl LII)
Malcolm Williams - New England (Super Bowl XLVI)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball