Cannon And Williams To Represent TCU in Super Bowl

Marcus Cannon

Jan. 23, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas -- TCU will be represented in Super Bowl XLVI by New England Patriot rookies Marcus Cannon and Malcolm Williams.

Cannon and Williams, who both saw action in the Patriots' AFC championship game victory over the Baltimore Ravens, give the Horned Frogs 24 former players who have been on Super Bowl teams.

This will be the fourth straight season that TCU has been represented in the Super Bowl.

Former Horned Frog Jared Retkofsky was the Pittsburgh Steelers' deep snapper in their Super Bowl XLIII win over the Arizona Cardinals. Former TCU baseball player Greg Meyer was the side judge in Super Bowl XLIV between the Indianapolis Colts and New Orleans Saints. Last year, Marshall Newhousewas a rookie offensive tackle for the Green Bay Packers in their victory over Pittsburgh.

Cannon, a three-year starter and all-conference selection at offensive tackle for the Horned Frogs, was selected by his Patriots' teammates as the recipient of the team's 2011 Ed Block Courage Award. After beginning the season on the reserve/non-football injury list, he played in New England's final seven games of the regular season and the opening two playoff contests.

Williams, a defensive back, has seen action on special teams in four games, including both playoff wins.

Former TCU Football Players on Super Bowl Teams
Lyle Blackwood - Miami (Super Bowl XVII, XIX)
Larry Brown - Dallas (Super Bowl XXVII, XXVIII, XXX)
Norm Bulaich - Baltimore (Super Bowl V)
Marcus Cannon - New England (Super Bowl XLVI)
Tommy Joe Crutcher - Green Bay (Super Bowl I, II)
Charles Davis - Pittsburgh (Super Bowl IX)
Kenneth Davis - Buffalo (Super Bowl XXV, XXVI, XXVII, XXVIII)
Norm Evans - Miami (Super Bowl VI, VII, VIII)
Sherrill Headrick - Kansas City (Super Bowl I)
Gaylon Hyder - St. Louis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
Cedric James - New England (Super Bowl XXXIX)
Bob Lilly - Dallas (Super Bowl V, VI)
James Maness - Chicago (Super Bowl XX)
Mickey McCarty - Kansas City (Super Bowl IV)
Guy Morriss - Philadelphia (Super Bowl XV), New England (Super Bowl XX)
Marshall Newhouse - Green Bay (Super Bowl XLV)
Bobby Pollard - Seattle (Super Bowl XL)
Jared Retkofsky - Pittsburgh (Super Bowl XLIII)
Barret Robbins - Oakland (Super Bowl XXXVII)
Bo Schobel - Indianapolis (Super Bowl XLI)
Michael Toudouze - Indianapolis (Super Bowl XLI, XLIV)
Greg Townsend - Los Angeles Raiders (Super Bowl XVIII)
Ryan Tucker - St. Louis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
Malcolm Williams - New England (Super Bowl XLVI)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball