Cannon to Make Third Super Bowl Appearance

Marcus Cannon
Feb. 3, 2017

HOUSTON -- TCU standout Marcus Cannon will be playing in his third Super Bowl when he takes the field Sunday as the starting right offensive tackle for the New England Patriots.

Cannon is one of 27 Horned Frogs to be on a Super Bowl team. This will be the seventh Super Bowl in the last nine years that TCU has had at least one player in the game.

Cannon, who recently received a five-year contract extension, was named to The Associated Press and Pro Football Focus All-Pro teams this season.

Cannon's three Super Bowl appearances tie him with Norm Evans and Super Bowl XXX Most Valuable Player Larry Brown for second-most among Horned Frogs, trailing only the four by Kenneth Davis with the Buffalo Bills.

Cannon is in his sixth NFL season. A four-year letterman (2007-10) at TCU, Cannon was a three-time all-conference offensive tackle who earned All-America honors as a senior on the Horned Frogs' Rose Bowl championship team. He was also all-conference in track and field, finishing second in the shot put at the 2009 Mountain West Championships with a mark of 54-10.

Former TCU Football Players on Super Bowl Teams
Lyle Blackwood - Miami (Super Bowl XVII, XIX)
Josh Boyce - New England (Super Bowl XLIX)
Larry Brown - Dallas (Super Bowl XXVII, XXVIII, XXX)
Norm Bulaich - Baltimore (Super Bowl V)
Marcus Cannon - New England (Super Bowl XLVI, XLIX, LI)
Tommy Joe Crutcher - Green Bay (Super Bowl I, II)
Charles Davis - Pittsburgh (Super Bowl IX)
Kenneth Davis - Buffalo (Super Bowl XXV, XXVI, XXVII, XXVIII)
Norm Evans - Miami (Super Bowl VI, VII, VIII)
Clint Gresham - Seattle (Super Bowl XLVIII, XLIX)
Sherrill Headrick - Kansas City (Super Bowl I)
Gaylon Hyder - St. Louis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
Cedric James - New England (Super Bowl XXXIX)
Colin Jones - Carolina (Super Bowl 50)
Bob Lilly - Dallas (Super Bowl V, VI)
James Maness - Chicago (Super Bowl XX)
Mickey McCarty - Kansas City (Super Bowl IV)
Guy Morriss - Philadelphia (Super Bowl XV), New England (Super Bowl XX)
Marshall Newhouse - Green Bay (Super Bowl XLV)
Bobby Pollard - Seattle (Super Bowl XL)
Jared Retkofsky - Pittsburgh (Super Bowl XLIII)
Barret Robbins - Oakland (Super Bowl XXXVII)
Bo Schobel - Indianapolis (Super Bowl XLI)
Michael Toudouze - Indianapolis (Super Bowl XLI, XLIV)
Greg Townsend - Los Angeles Raiders (Super Bowl XVIII)
Ryan Tucker - St. Louis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
Malcolm Williams - New England (Super Bowl XLVI)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball