TCU places 42 on Academic All-MWC Team

Michelle Nguyen was one of 14 women's soccer players named Academic All-MWC Thursday.

Michelle Nguyen was one of 14 women's soccer players named Academic All-MWC Thursday.

Feb. 7, 2008

FORT WORTH--Each of TCU's five fall sports were represented on the Fall Academic All-Mountain West Conference Team released Thursday. A total of 42 Horned Frog student-athletes posted cumulative grade-point averages of 3.0 or higher during the 2007 fall semester.

To be eligible for selection to the team, student-athletes must complete at least one academic term at the institution and maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better while being a starter or significant contributor to their athletic team.

This semester's 42 Frog selections marked TCU's highest total during the fall term since joining the Mountain West Conference two years ago. The program posted 36 selections a year ago and 27 honorees during its inaugural MWC season in 2005-06.

Headlining the Academic All-MWC honorees were 14 women's soccer players, marking half of the 2007 roster and the top group among TCU's five fall athletic squads. The Frog football team placed 11 student-athletes on the list, while women's cross country (seven), volleyball (six) and men's cross country (four) each garnered multiple individual honors.

The following are TCU's members on the Fall 2007 Mountain West Conference All-Academic team:

Women's Soccer (14):
KJ Brozena
Chelsea Cody
Jenna Hayes
Katy Howard
Lizzy Karoly
Cheryl Martin
Michelle Nguyen
Angie Nickens
Lesley Parkinson
Sara Schneider
Julia Slater
Jackie Torda
Kelsey Walters
Nikki Wilbur

Football (11):
Curtis Clay
Ervin Dickerson
John Fonua
David Hawthorne
Bart Johnson
Josh Karlin
Jake Kirkpatrick
Chris Manfredini
Derek Moore
Matt Panfil
Shae Reagan

Women's Cross Country (7):
Shannon Andrew
Heidi Barr
Amber Carlisle
Cassie Hostick
Tanja Ivandic
Ashley Millerick
Ashley Young

Volleyball (6):
Katelyn Blackwood
Calli Corley
Nirelle Hampton
Irene Hester
Christy Hudson
Devon Kirk

Men's Cross Country (4):
Ryan Dalrymple
Holden Hollingsworth
Andrew McDonald
Jeff Pels



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines