Football Announces 2015 Team Award Winners

April 3, 2016

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The TCU football program honored its 2015 senior class at Saturday night's team banquet in the Brown-Lupton University Union on campus.

The seniors, who were 23-3 the last two seasons, had a 34-17 overall record while winning the 2014 Big 12 championship, 2014 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and 2016 Valero Alamo Bowl.

In voting by his teammates, quarterback Trevone Boykin was selected as TCU's Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive year. Boykin becomes just the seventh Horned Frog to be a two-time recipient of the Dan Rogers MVP award. Previous two-time winners were cornerback Jason Verrett (2012-13), defensive end Jerry Hughes (2008-09), quarterback Jeff Ballard (2005-06), tailback LaDainian Tomlinson (1999-00), offensive lineman W.C. Nix (1985-86) and wide receiver Mike Renfro (1976-77).

Wide receiver Josh Doctson was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player with safety Derrick Kindred voted as the Defensive MVP. KaVontae Turpin, as a return specialist, was the Special Teams MVP.

Boykin earned second-team All-America honors and was a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, Manning Award and Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award. He ranked second in the nation in total offense at 380.6 yards per game and completed 64.9 percent of his passes for 3,575 yards with 31 touchdowns. He was also TCU's second–leading rusher with 612 yards on a 5.0 per carry mark with nine scores.

In the red zone last season, Boykin had 17 touchdown passes, no interceptions and eight rushing scores. Since 2009, only four times has a quarterback averaged over 300 yards per game passing and 50 rushing. Boykin did it twice (2014, 2015). The others to accomplish the feat were Heisman Trophy winners Robert Griffin III and Johnny Manziel. Boykin's streak of seven consecutive games with at least 300 yards passing and 40 yards rushing was the longest in the nation over the last 20 years.

Since 1996, Boykin led all players nationally with six career games of 400 yards passing and 40 yards rushing. No one else had more than four. Boykin is one of just eight quarterbacks in FBS history with at least 10,000 yards passing and 1,500 yards rushing. He broke Andy Dalton’s TCU career records for touchdown passes (86), passing yards (10,728), completions (830), total offense (12,777) and touchdowns responsible for (114).

Doctson was a unanimous consensus first-team All-American and finalist for the Biletnikoff Award. He led the nation with 132.7 receiving yards per game and was the only player in the country to rank in the top six in receiving yards per game, receptions per game (7.9) and touchdown catches (14). His 79 receptions, 1,327 yards receiving and 14 touchdowns were TCU single-season records.

Despite missing three games and parts of two others due to injury, Doctson still topped all Big 12 receivers with 61 catches and 1,001 yards receiving in conference play. His 11 touchdown catches were one shy of the lead. Doctson joined two-time Biletnikoff Award winner Michael Crabtree from Texas Tech as the only players in the last 20 years to have six straight games with at least 100 yards receiving and multiple touchdown catches. Doctson is one of just eight players in Big 12 history to have multiple seasons of at least 1,000 yards receiving and 10 touchdown catches.

Doctson was one of two Horned Frogs to receive Walter Camp National Player of the Week honors in 2015. He received notice after his 18 receptions for 267 yards and three touchdowns in TCU's 55-52 win at Texas Tech. Linebacker Ty Summers garnered Walter Camp National Defensive Player of the Week recognition after his 23 tackles, including the game-ending stop, in the 28-21 double-overtime win over Baylor.

Kindred, who played the 2015 season with a broken collarbone and never missed a game, was a first-team All-Big 12 selection. The San Antonio native placed second on TCU with 87 tackles to go with two interceptions. His 60-yard pick six at Kansas State ignited TCU's second-half rally from an 18-point deficit for the victory.

Turpin received Freshman All-America honors as a kickoff returner from the Football Writers Association of America. The true freshman from Monroe, La., was second in the Big 12 and tied for 14th nationally with his 27.0 average, the highest mark by a Horned Frog since All-American Greg McCoy in 2011 (30.6). Turpin was the only player in the nation this season to rank in the top 25 in kickoff returns and punt returns. He returned a punt 49 yards for a touchdown versus Kansas.

2015 TCU Football Team Award Winners
Defensive Scout Team Most Valuable Player – L.J. Collier (Munday, Texas)
Offensive Scout Team Most Valuable Player – Kenny Hill (Southlake, Texas)
Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award – Davion Pierson (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award – Derrick Kindred (San Antonio, Texas)
Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman – Luke Benuska (San Marino, Calif.) and Pakamiaiaea Davis (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)
Abe Martin Leadership Award – Derrick Kindred (San Antonio, Texas)
Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award – Aaron Green (San Antonio, Texas)
G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award – Buck Jones (Matthews, N.C.)
Special Teams Most Valuable Player – KaVontae Turpin (Monroe, La.)
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Derrick Kindred (San Antonio, Texas)
Offensive Most Valuable Player – Josh Doctson (Mansfield, Texas)
Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player – Trevone Boykin (Dallas, Texas)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball