Football Announces 2016 Team Award Winners

Kyle Hicks and Gary Patterson
April 3, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The TCU football program honored its 2016 senior class at Saturday night's team banquet in the Brown-Lupton University Union on campus.

Over the last three seasons, the seniors helped TCU post the Big 12's second-best overall record (29-10) and conference mark (19-8). During their careers, the seniors won a 2014 Big 12 championship, 2014 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and 2016 Valero Alamo Bowl.

In voting by his teammates, running back Kyle Hicks was selected as TCU's Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player. Hicks is the first running back to receive the award since Pro Football Hall of Famer LaDainian Tomlinson in 1999 and 2000.

Hicks was also named the Offensive Most Valuable Player with linebacker Travin Howard voted the Defensive MVP. KaVontae Turpin, as a return specialist, was the Special Teams MVP for the second straight season.

Hicks became the first Horned Frog since Basil Mitchell in 1996 to lead TCU in both rushing (1,042 yards) and receiving (47 receptions). A rising senior from Arlington, Texas, Hicks gave the Horned Frogs a 1,000-yard rusher for the second consecutive season (Aaron Green, 1,272 yards, 2015).

Hicks ran for a career-high 192 yards and five touchdowns in the 62-22 win over Baylor. The five rushing touchdowns tied for second-best in a game in TCU history, trailing only Tomlinson (6, vs. UTEP, 1999). Hicks' 192 yards rushing were the most by a Horned Frog since 2010 (Ed Wesley, 209, vs. Air Force). Hicks topped the 100-yard mark in four games. His 47 receptions were the most by a TCU running back in 23 years (47, John Oglesby, 1993).

Howard, a first-team All-Big 12 selection, led the Big 12 in tackles and tied for ninth nationally with 130. It ranked third for a single season under Gary Patterson as head coach. Howard became just the second Horned Frog in 16 years under Patterson to have back-to-back seasons with at least 100 tackles (Martin Patterson, 2003-04). The rising senior from Longview, Texas, tied a career-high with a season-best 19 stops versus Texas Tech.

Turpin, honorable-mention Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year, was the Conference Special Teams Player of the Week against South Dakota State and Arkansas. Turpin’s 28.4-yard season average on kickoff returns was the highest by a Horned Frog in five years (Greg McCoy, 30.6, 2011). Before being injured, the rising junior from Monroe, La., was leading the nation in punt returns and all-purpose yards. His 81-yard punt return for a touchdown versus South Dakota State tied for sixth-best in TCU history and was the Horned Frogs’ longest since 2000.

2016 TCU Football Team Award Winners
Defensive Scout Team Most Valuable Player – Ben Banogu (McKinney, Texas)
Offensive Scout Team Most Valuable Player – Nate Guyton (Atlanta, Ga.)
Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award – Josh Carraway (Flower Mound, Texas) and Patrick Morris (Denton, Texas)
Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award – Austin Schlottmann (Brenham, Texas)
Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman – Nate Guyton (Atlanta, Ga.)
Abe Martin Leadership Award – Josh Carraway (Flower Mound, Texas)
Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award – Ty Summers (San Antonio, Texas)
G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award – Patrick Morris (Denton, Texas)
Special Teams Most Valuable Player – KaVontae Turpin (Monroe, La.)
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Travin Howard (Longview, Texas)
Offensive Most Valuable Player – Kyle Hicks (Arlington, Texas)
Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player – Kyle Hicks (Arlington, Texas)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball