Three Former Frogs Ink Free-Agent Deals

Jimmy Young

July 26, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Former TCU standouts Jake Kirkpatrick, Jimmy Young and Jason Teague have signed free-agent contracts with NFL teams.

The Indianapolis Colts signed Kirkpatrick, Young has signed with the Chicago Bears and Teague has joined the Houston Texans.

Kirkpatrick was a two-time first-team All-American and the 2010 recipient of the Rimington Trophy, presented to the nation's top center.

Kirkpatrick is the third former Horned Frog on the Colts' roster, joining former TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes and offensive tackle Michael Toudouze.

Young is one of just three players to place in TCU's top-five all-time in receptions (147), receiving yards (2,316) and touchdowns (13), joining Mike Renfro (1974-77) and Stephen Shipley (1989-92).

Young was a three-time All-Mountain West Conference selection at TCU.

Teague was named second-team All-Mountain West Conference in 2010.

Five Horned Frogs were selected in the 2011 National Football League Draft: quarterback Andy Dalton (Cincinnati Bengals), offensive tackle Marcus Cannon (New England Patriots), wide receiver Jeremy Kerley (New York Jets), safety Colin Jones (San Francisco 49ers) and cornerback Malcolm Williams (New England Patriots).

TCU now has 24 former players on active NFL rosters.

As TCU's head coach, Gary Patterson has had 29 players drafted with a total of 56 in NFL camps.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball