2015 Preview: Four Starters Return on O-Line

Aug. 20, 2015

FORT WORTH, Texas -- GoFrogs.com continues its preview of the 2015 TCU football team with a look at the offensive line.

Anchored by center Joey Hunt (6-3, 295, Sr.), the offensive line returns four starters from a year ago.

Hunt, who arrived at TCU as a defensive tackle, earned All-Big 12 honors in 2014. The El Campo, Texas, native appears on preseason watch lists for the Outland Trophy, Rimington Trophy and Wuerffel Trophy. The 2015 Preseason All-Big 12 pick is also a nominee for the AFCA Good Works Team.

Austin Schlottman (6-6, 300, So.) entered fall camp as the back-up to Hunt at center. Schlottman, who could also be utilized at tackle, appeared in all 13 games as a true freshman last season.

Brady Foltz (6-4, 320, Sr.) and Jamelle Naff (6-4, 325, Sr.) are the returning starters at right and left guard, respectively.

Foltz’s first 13 career starts came last season. Naff also started each game in 2014.

Patrick Morris (6-3, 300, So.) and Bobby Thompson (6-6, 310, Sr.) provide quality depth at guard. Morris played as a true freshman in 2013 and redshirted last season.

Halapoulivaati Vaitai (6-6, 315, Sr.), a 2014 All-Big 12 selection and last year’s starter at right tackle, is now at left tackle to replace the graduated Tayo Fabuluje. Vaitai saw action on the left side last season. Like Hunt, Vaitai is a Preseason All-Big 12 selection and on the Outland Trophy Watch List.

Joseph Noteboom (6-5, 320, So.) closed the spring in a first-team position at right tackle. He appeared in all 13 games last season and was a first-team Academic All-Big 12 honoree.

Veteran Aviante Collins (6-6, 295, Sr.) and Matt Pryor (6-7, 350, So.), the largest Horned Frog, provide quality depth at tackle. Collins ranks fourth among active Horned Frogs with 23 career starts.

Ty Barrett (6-5, 316, RFr.), Trey Elliott (6-4, 280, RFr.) and Ryan Griswold (6-5, 270, RFr.) redshirted in 2014 and will compete for playing time, along with converted tight end Luke Benuska (6-6, 295, Sr.).

David Bolisomi (6-6, 290, Fr.), Cordel Iwuagwu (6-3, 290, Fr.) and Jozie Milton (6-2, 310, Fr.) comprise a trio of true freshmen looking to make an immediate contribution.


2 - Returning All-Big 12 selections (Joey Hunt, Halapoulivaati Vaitai) on this year's TCU offensive line

3 - Former TCU offensive linemen active in the NFL (Marcus Cannon, New England Patriots; Tayo Fabuluje, Chicago Bears; Marshall Newhouse, New York Giants)

8 - Consecutive seasons (2009-15) a Foltz brother (Blaize, 2008-12; Brady, 2012-15) will be on the offensive line for TCU

26 - Career starts by Joey Hunt, ranking first for active TCU offensive linemen and third among current Horned Frogs

2010 - Year Jake Kirkpatrick won the Rimington Trophy as the nation's top center



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball