Windegger Named Southwest Conference Hall of Fame Inductee

Aug 23, 2013

WACO, Texas - The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) is proud to announce nine new members into its 2013 class of inductees for the newly reinitiated Southwest Conference Hall of Fame: Jay Arnette (Texas), Bob Brock (Texas A&M), Frank Broyles (Arkansas), Rick Bullock (Texas Tech), Trevor Cobb (Rice), Jerry Mallett (Baylor), Gene Phillips (SMU), Tom Tellez (Houston) and Frank Windegger (TCU).

“What a great group of individuals to include in this Hall of Fame,” said TSHOF President Carroll Dawson. “Without a doubt, these are some of the great names of the SWC. We are delighted that the Texas Sports Hall of Fame can honor former Southwest Conference greats, both publicly and within the museum.”

Windegger spent 45 years as a TCU athlete, Coach and Athletic Director. He played football and baseball for the Frogs before graduating in 1957. He started out as assistant ticket manager and baseball coach and served TCU in various capacities until being named Athletic Director in 1975. He retired in 1998 after serving the 23 years as the Frogs' A.D.

The Southwest Conference (SWC) Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. There will be an induction ceremony and luncheon recognizing the first class to be inducted since 1995 on Monday, October 28, at 11:30 AM in Dallas at the Doubletree Hotel, Campbell Center.



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines