Three Frogs on Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award List

Aug. 26, 2015

TYLER, Texas -- TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin, wide receiver Josh Doctson and tailback Aaron Green have been named to the watch list for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is presented annually to the nation's top player who was either born in Texas, graduated from a state high school or plays at a Texas-based university. Boykin was the 2014 recipient.

No school has more players on this year’s watch list than TCU.

Boykin, who finished fourth in Heisman Trophy voting last season, was the 2014 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year. He is the preseason pick for the same honor.

A senior from Dallas, Boykin set TCU single-season records for passing yards (3,901), touchdown passes (33), touchdowns responsible for (42) and total offense (4,608). Boykin ranked fourth in the nation in total offense at 354.5 yards per game. He became just the third quarterback since 2009 to average at least 300 yards per game passing (300.1) and 50 rushing (54.4). The others were Heisman Trophy winners Robert Griffin III and Johnny Manziel. Boykin had a TCU single-game record seven touchdown passes with a career-best 433 yards passing against Texas Tech. He ran for a career-high 123 yards and three touchdowns versus Kansas State.

Doctson was also All-Big 12 in 2014 and a semifinalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award. He set TCU single-season records for receiving yards (1,018) and touchdown catches (11). His 65 receptions were one short of the TCU single-season mark (66, Josh Boyce, 2012). He was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week and the College Football Performance Awards National Wide Receiver of the Week for his efforts against Oklahoma State, when he totaled seven catches for 225 yards and first-quarter touchdown grabs of 77 and 84 yards. He had back-to-back contests of at least 100 yards and a touchdown against Texas (7/115/1) and Iowa State (9/151/1).

Green earned All-Big 12 honors last season as he led TCU in rushing with 922 yards and nine touchdowns on a 7.1 per carry average. All four of his 100-yard rushing games came in the final seven contests. He had at least one rushing touchdown in the final five games and eight of the last nine. He ran for a career-high 171 yards, including a career-long 65-yard scoring run, against Kansas State. He caught a 31-yard touchdown pass from Kolby Listenbee on TCU's second offensive play of the game against Ole Miss in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. He then added a 15-yard run up the middle eight minutes later to give the Horned Frogs a 14-0 lead over the Rebels.

The TCU trio led the Horned Frogs to their first Big 12 championship in just their third season in the conference. TCU capped its 12-1 campaign with a 42-3 win over Ole Miss in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

The Horned Frogs, who return 10 starters on offense, were the nation's most-improved team last season in both total offense (+188.2 ypg) and scoring offense (+21.4 ppg). TCU ranked in the top-five nationally in both categories. The Horned Frogs also have the nation's longest-current streak (15 games) of scoring at least 30 points. TCU set single-season school records for points (604), first downs (331), plays (1,038), passing yards (4,240) and total offense (6,929).



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball