Hughes Tabbed A Hendricks Award Finalist

Jerry Hughes

Jerry Hughes

Dec. 2, 2009

CHICAGO -- The Ted Hendricks Foundation has announced TCU's Jerry Hughes as a finalist for the 2009 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year award.

Hughes is also a finalist for the Lott Trophy, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award and Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. He received a Local Hero Award from Bank of America in October for his work in the community.

Hughes has 15 tackles for loss, including 11 1/2 sacks, among a career-high 54 stops for No. 4 TCU (12-0), expected to make its first BCS appearance when selections are made Sunday.

A senior from Sugar Land, Texas, Hughes anchors a TCU defense that ranks in the top five nationally in run defense, pass defense and total defense. The Horned Frogs are sixth in scoring defense.

The other Hendricks Award finalists are Jeremy Beal (Oklahoma), Brandon Graham (Michigan), Sergio Kindle (Texas), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Derrick Morgan (Georgia Tech) and Greg Romeus (Pittsburgh).

The final vote for the 2009 Hendricks Award will be concluded on Dec. 8. The winner will be announced Dec. 9.



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines