TCU football announces 2007 team award winners

Chase Ortiz

Chase Ortiz

Dec. 9, 2007

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Defensive end Chase Ortiz being named the Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player highlighted the honors as the 2007 TCU football team held its awards banquet Saturday night in the Amon G. Carter Exhibits Hall at the Will Rogers Memorial Center.

Ortiz was selected for the award in a vote by his teammates. He is the first Horned Frog defensive player to receive the Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player Award since 2003, when defensive end Bo Schobel shared the honor with placekicker Nick Browne.

Ortiz is TCU's first three-time first-team all-conference player since wide receiver Mike Renfro from 1975-77 in the Southwest Conference.

A senior from League City, Texas, Ortiz ranks among the Mountain West Conference and national leaders with eight sacks, 15.5 tackles for a loss and three forced fumbles. He made the final watch list for the Ted Hendricks Award, honoring the nation's top defensive end.

Ortiz has started all but one game the last three seasons. His 19.5 career sacks rank fifth on the Frogs' all-time list.

Tailback Joseph Turner was selected as TCU's Offensive Most Valuable Player. The sophomore from Austin, Texas, averaged 108.5 yards rushing in the Frogs' four November games. For the season, he tops TCU with 587 yards and six touchdowns. In the 45-33 win at San Diego State in the regular-season finale, Turner rushed for 226 yards and four scores in being named the Mountain West Conference Offensive Player of the Week.

Punter Derek Wash is TCU's Special Teams Most Valuable Player. His 43.2 yard average ranks fourth on the Frogs' single-season chart. Wash has placed 21 punts inside the opponent 20 with just six touchbacks. He is instrumental in TCU ranking 13th nationally in net punting (37.9 yards) while allowing just 5.8 yards per return. A senior from Arlington, Texas, Wash appeared on the Ray Guy Award Watch List.

Offensive guard Matty Lindner received the Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award for the second consecutive season.

Included below is a recap of TCU's 2007 team award winners.

Most Valuable Player Defensive Scout Team - Johnny Fobbs (Fort Worth, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Offensive Scout Team - Tyler Luttrell (Weatherford, Texas)
Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award - Matty Lindner (Comfort, Texas)
Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award - Blake Schlueter (Ganado, Texas)
Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman - Adam Lowery (Brandon, Miss.)
Abe Martin Leadership Award - Brian Bonner (Beeville, Texas)
Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award - Giles Montgomery (Sweetwater, Texas)
G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award - Chris Manfredini (Colleyville, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Special Teams - Derek Wash (Arlington, Texas)
Special Teams Points Leader - Brian Bonner (Beeville, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Defense - Chase Ortiz (League City, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Offense - Joseph Turner (Austin, Texas)
Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player - Chase Ortiz (League City, Texas)



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines