Frogs Announce 2008 Team Award Winners

TCU senior linebacker James Gleaton, with head coach Gary Patterson, received the Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman Award.

TCU senior linebacker James Gleaton, with head coach Gary Patterson, received the Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman Award.

Dec. 10, 2008

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Defensive end Jerry Hughes being named the Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player highlighted the honors as the 2008 TCU football team held its awards banquet in the Amon G. Carter Exhibits Hall at the Will Rogers Memorial Center in Fort Worth.

Hughes was selected for the honor in a vote by his teammates. He is the second straight defensive end to receive the Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player Award. Chase Ortiz was last year's recipient.

The Mountain West Conference Defensive Player of the Year, Hughes was one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy as the nation's top defensive player. He is also a Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year finalist.

Hughes tops the nation with 14 sacks and six forced fumbles. He also ranks in the top 10 nationally with 18.5 tackles for loss and three fumble recoveries. Additionally, Hughes has two interceptions with one returned for a touchdown.

Hughes and linebacker Jason Phillips shared Defensive MVP honors. Phillips is the only player in Mountain West Conference history to be a first- or second-team all-conference selection in four consecutive seasons. With 79 stops, he tops TCU in tackles for the third time in four years.

Wide receiver Jimmy Young was selected as TCU's Offensive Most Valuable Player. The sophomore from Monroe, La., is 74 yards shy of posting just the second 1,000-yard receiving campaign in TCU history. His 926 yards already place second on the Horned Frogs' single-season chart. He has a team-best 54 receptions.

Stephen Hodge, a first-team All-MWC selection at safety, is TCU's Special Teams Most Valuable Player. His 23 special teams tackles are 11 more than the next-closest Frog (Daryl Washington, 12).

For the second consecutive season, offensive guard Giles Montgomery was named the recipient of the Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award.

Senior linebacker Robert Henson received the Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award for the second time in his TCU career. He also garnered the award as a redshirt freshman in 2005.

Included below is a recap of TCU's 2008 team award winners.

Most Valuable Player Defensive Scout Team - Henry Niutei (Euless, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Offensive Scout Team - Edward Wesley (Irving, Texas)
Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award - Robert Henson (Longview, Texas)
Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award - Matt Panfil (Fort Worth, Texas)
Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman - James Gleaton (Early, Texas)
Abe Martin Leadership Award - Blake Schlueter (Ganado, Texas)
Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award - Giles Montgomery (Sweetwater, Texas)
G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award - Shae Reagan (Idalou, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Special Teams - Stephen Hodge (Tatum, Texas)
Special Teams Points Leader - Stephen Hodge (Tatum, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Defense (Tie) - Jerry Hughes (Sugar Land, Texas) and Jason Phillips (Waller, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Offense - Jimmy Young (Monroe, La.)
Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player - Jerry Hughes (Sugar Land, Texas)



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines