TCU Claims Three Big 12 Individual Awards

TCU swept the Big 12 Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year Awards for just the third time in league history
Dec. 10, 2014

Fort Worth, Texas - The Big 12 head coaches have selected TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin as the Conference Offensive Player of the year, linebacker Paul Dawson as the Defensive Player of the Year and Gary Patterson as the Coach of the Year.

Seventeen Horned Frogs received All-Big 12 recognition. Joining Boykin and Dawson as first-team picks were safety Chris Hackett and place-kicker Jaden Oberkrom.

Second-team selections were safety Sam Carter, wide receiver Josh Doctson, tailback Aaron Green, center Joey Hunt, defensive tackle Chucky Hunter, offensive tackle Halapoulivaati Vaitai and cornerback Kevin White.

Honorable-mention accolades went to return specialists B.J. Catalon and Cameron Echols-Luper, offensive tackle Tayo Fabuluje, safety Derrick Kindred, wide receiver Kolby Listenbee and defensive tackle Davion Pierson.

With Dawson's selection, TCU has had the Conference Defensive Player of the Year in each of the last seven seasons (Jerry Hughes, 2008-09; Tank Carder, 2010-11; Devonte Fields, 2012; Jason Verrett, 2013). Dawson is the lone player in the nation with at least 100 tackles (128), five sacks and four interceptions. He has 18 1/2 tackles for loss, three fumble recoveries, two forced fumbles, five pass breakups and five quarterback hurries.

Dawson has been in double figures in tackles in nine of 12 games this season. His 128 stops are just three shy of Martin Patterson (131, 2004) for the most by a Horned Frog in the 14-season tenure of Patterson.

A finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award and Manning Award, Boykin tops the Big 12 and is third nationally in total offense (363.0 yards per game). He is on pace to become just the third quarterback since 2009 to average over 300 yards passing (309.5) and 50 yards rushing (53.5). The other two were Heisman Trophy winners Robert Griffin III and Johnny Manziel.

Boykin has set TCU single-season records for passing yards (3,714), touchdown passes (30), total offense (4,356) and touchdowns responsible for (39).

A Dallas native, Boykin is second on the Horned Frogs with 642 yards rushing and eight touchdowns on a 4.5 per carry mark.

Boykin was the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week after his TCU-record seven touchdown passes and 433 yards passing in an 82-27 win over Texas Tech.

Patterson led the Horned Frogs to their first Big 12 championship in just their third season in the conference. TCU was picked seventh in the preseason Big 12 poll.

Patterson has now received Coach of the Year honors from three different conferences (C-USA, Mountain West, Big 12). Patterson has won six conference championships in three different leagues during his 14 seasons as TCU's head coach.

Hackett tops the Big 12 and is tied for seventh nationally with six interceptions. He is fourth on TCU with 73 tackles, including 3 1/2 for loss.

Oberkrom is the nation's leading kick scorer at 11.3 points per game. He is 22-of-26 on field goals, including making his last 13 attempts.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball