Brun Repeats as Hogan Award Semifinalist

Sophomore Julien Brun

Sophomore Julien Brun

April 19, 2013


FORT WORTH—TCU sophomore Julien Brun was one of 10 student-athletes named Thursday as a semifinalist for The Ben Hogan Award presented annually to the top men’s collegiate golfer. Brun joined four other repeat nominees from last season’s list.

The Ben Hogan Award, which has been issued since 1990, honors the most outstanding amateur collegiate golfer competing in NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12 months. The award’s selection committee is made up of 23 leaders and experts in amateur, college and professional golf.

Joining Brun among the group of semifinalists are: Albin Choi (NC State, Jr.), Sean Dale (North Florida, Sr.), Michael Kim (California, So.), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington, So.), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, So.), Brandon Stone (Texas, Fr.), Justin Thomas (Alabama, So.), Chris Williams (Washington, Sr.) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama, Jr.).

Only the second TCU golfer ever named a Ben Hogan Award semifinalist along with Adam Rubinson, Brun is the only Frog to garner the honor twice in a career.

Rated No. 4 nationally in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin national performance index, Brun has followed up an outstanding freshman campaign with an even better sophomore season. His current season stroke average of 70.27 is on pace to break his own TCU season record set last season (70.51), while he already has matched his own single-season mark for individual victories (three).

The list of Ben Hogan Award semifinalists will be pared down to three finalists on May 8. The three finalists will then attend a black-tie banquet May 20 at Colonial Country Club, where the winner will be crowned prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational.

TCU continues its spring schedule Friday when it travels to Atlanta, Ga., for a dual match against Georgia Tech before heading to Hutchinson, Kan., next week for the Big 12 Championship.

To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and previous winners, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter. For more information on TCU Men's Golf, visit and follow @TCUMensGolf on Twitter.



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines