Brun Earns Second Career Palmer Cup Invite

Sophomore Julien Brun

April 22, 2013


FORT WORTH—TCU sophomore All-American Julien Brun earned his second career Palmer Cup invitation Monday from the Golf Coaches Association of America. The Ryder Cup-style event will be held in late June in Wilmington, Del.

An international competition between college stars from the United States and Europe, the Palmer Cup celebrates its 17th year in 2013. The event features a format similar to the Ryder Cup in that it pits players on the two teams against each other in match play. This year’s Palmer Cup will be played June 7-9 at Wilmington Country Club.

Brun, a native of Antibes, France, became the first French golfer ever selected to compete in the Palmer Cup last summer, when he helped lead Team Europe to a stunning final-day comeback victory over the United States in Newcastle, Scotland. Fellow Frenchman Joel Statler (Cal) will join Brun on the European roster this year, along with Arkansas’ Sebastian Cappelen (Denmark), Iowa State’s Scott Fernandez (Spain), NIU Maynooth’s Gary Hurley (Ireland), UCLA’s Pedro Figueiredo (Portugal), North Florida’s Kevin Phelan (Ireland), Nova Southeastern’s Ben Taylor (England), UCLA’s Pontus Widegren (Sweden) and UCF’s Greg Eason (England).

Selected to compete for Team USA were Daniel Berger (Florida State), Alex Carpenter (Abilene Christian), Sean Dale (North Florida), James Erkenbeck (New Mexico), Michael Kim (Cal), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford), Justin Thomas (Alabama), Michael Weaver (Cal), Cory Whitsett (Alabama) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama).

Brun is the fourth TCU golfer to be selected to compete in the Palmer Cup following previous appearances by Alberto Ochoa (1997), J.J. Henry (1998) and Adam Rubinson (2003). He is the first Frog to earn more than one selection.

The Palmer Cup is run by the Golf Coaches Association of America and named for Arnold Palmer, often recognized as America’s greatest ambassador for the game of golf. Over the years, several of today’s top professional golfers have taken part in the event, including: Luke Donald, Rory Sabbatini, Charles Howell, III, Jonathan Byrd, 2003 British Open Champion Ben Curtis, 2009 U.S. Open Champion Lucas Glover, Bryce Molder, 2010 U.S. Open Champion Graeme McDowell, Bill Haas, Hunter Mahan, Ryan Moore, D.J. Trahan, Gonzalo Castano, J.B. Holmes, 2006 USGA Amateur Champion Richard Ramsey, Pablo Martin and Dustin Johnson.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball