Six Earn Dr. Gerald Lage Award from Big 12

Max Stevens

March 5, 2013

FORT WORTH - Six TCU student-athletes have been named recipients of the Big 12's Dr. Gerald Lage Award, the conference announced Tuesday. The TCU recipients were Katie Dalton (cross country/track and field), Emily Maloof (equestrian), Sabine Rasch (swimming and diving), Shannon Speir (cross country/track and field), Max Stevens (men's tennis) and Sara Talley (track and field). The honor, in its third year of being presented, is the conference's highest academic honor.

Dalton, a senior from Bentonville, Ark., has served as an important contributor to TCU's track and cross country teams in 2012. She competed in all six meets for the Horned Frogs during the cross country campaign. She was named first-team Academic All-Big 12 for cross country. Dalton is a movement science major.

Maloof, a junior from Colorado Springs, Colo., has been a competitor in Hunt Seat for the Horned Frogs. She is a sociology major.

Rasch, a senior from Luckenwalde, Germany, finished up her TCU career as one of the top competitors in the swimming and diving program's history. Rasch closed out her career by earning All-Big 12 accolades in the women's 50 and 100 free at the Big 12 Championships in Austin. She also help re-set school records in the 400 medley relay and 800 free relay at the conference championships. Rasch is a marketing major.

Speir, a junior from LaGrange, Ill., competed in four meets for the TCU cross country team in the fall. She also earned Academic All-Big 12 honors. Speir is a biology major.

Stevens, a junior from Dallas, is 6-5 in doubles throughout the 2013 season. Along with his partner J.T. Sundling, the pair are on a two-match winning streak including helping the Frogs earn the doubles point against No. 12 Pepperdine last Tuesday. Stevens is a communications studies major.

Talley, a senior from Resaca, Ga., is TCU's school record holder in the javelin throw. She earned Academic All-Mountain West honors last season. Talley is a business information systems major.

The honor is in memory of Dr. Gerald Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball