Men's Tennis Seeded No. 6 for NCAAs

May 2, 2017

Tournament Central

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The No. 4 TCU men's tennis team was selected to appear in the NCAA Men's Tennis Championships for the 28th time in program history Tuesday when this season' full 64-team bracket was announced. The Horned Frogs earned the No. 6 seed and will host No. 32 Florida State, No. 39 Arkansas and Jackson State from May 12-13 for the first and second rounds at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center.

TCU (19-4) will take on the SWAC Champion Tigers (8-20) in the opening round at 2 p.m., on Friday and will also welcome the Florida State Seminoles (16-11) and Arkansas Razorbacks (16-12) for the other first round match at 11 a.m., on Friday. The second round match will take place on Saturday at 2 p.m. The Frogs' selection marked their fourth under the helm of head coach David Roditi and this marks the team's third straight season earning a seed in the tournament and hosting the first and second rounds.

The Big 12 had five of the six teams make the NCAA field with all five schools earning a national seed. TCU is the highest at No. 6 followed by Baylor (7), Texas (10), Oklahoma State (11) and Oklahoma (14).

TCU is coming off winning its second straight Big 12 tournament title as the Horned Frogs swept the regular season and tournament titles in back-to-back seasons. Cameron Norrie, who is ranked No.1 nationally, became the first player in conference history to earn Most Outstanding Performer honors at the tournament in consecutive seasons. Alex Rybakov, Trevor Johnson, Reese Stalder and Guillermo Nuñez were also named to the All-Tournament team for their performances as TCU is currently riding a 14-match winning streak.

The team to advance out of the Fort Worth Regional will compete in the NCAA Championship Team Finals held May 18 through 22 at the Dan Magill Tennis Center in Athens, Ga., on the campus of the University of Georgia.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three (3) six-game doubles matches played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

Individual fields for the NCAA singles and doubles championships will be announced Wednesday at 4 p.m.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball