TCU Set To Open NCAA Regional Play

Rachel Raastad

May 9, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The Mountain West champion TCU women's golf team will make its 17th consecutive postseason appearance when it begins play Thursday at the NCAA West Regional in Erie, Colo.

The top-eight teams and two individuals from each of the three NCAA Regional sites will advance to the NCAA Championships May 22-25 in Franklin, Tenn. TCU has reached the NCAA Championships in four of the last five years.

TCU is seeded 12th in the NCAA West Regional. Joining the Horned Frogs, top seed and defending national champion UCLA and host Colorado in the 24-team regional are LSU, North Carolina, California, Baylor, Pepperdine, UC Davis, Oklahoma, Texas Tech, Tulsa, Iowa State, Stanford, Denver, UNLV, New Mexico, Oregon State, Illinois, Kennesaw State, San Jose State, Missouri State, Northern Colorado and Jackson State.

The three day, 54-hole NCAA West Regional will be played on the par 72, 6,575-yard Colorado National Golf Course. Live scoring of each round is available at TCU's Thursday tee times begin at 8:30 a.m. CDT.

TCU's streak of 17 consecutive postseason appearances, second-longest among Horned Frog athletics teams behind only men's golf (23), has come under 18th-year head coach Angie Ravaioli-Larkin, the MW Coach of the Year the last three seasons.

When last in action, TCU won its second straight MW championship and third in six years. Sanna Nuutinen became TCU's first individual conference champion since D'Rae Ward won the 2003 C-USA Championship. A sophomore from Helsinki, Finland, Nuutinen captured the title on the fourth playoff hole. It was also her first collegiate tournament victory.

TCU seniors Brooke Beeler and Rachel Raastad will be making their fourth postseason appearance. Rounding out the Horned Frogs' lineup are Nuutinen and freshmen Alexandra Bonetti and April McCoy.

Beeler, McCoy and Nuutinen were All-MW selections this season. They also make TCU the lone school in the MW to place three golfers in the league's top 10 in stroke average. Beeler (74.9) and Nuutinen (75.0) are third and fourth, respectively. McCoy is 10th at 76.0.

Beeler and Nuutinen both have five top-20 finishes in 10 tournaments this season. Nuutinen has three top-10 results, including her MW Championship. She has been TCU's top finisher in a team-best five events.

Raastad closed the regular season with her top performance of the year, tying for third at the PING/Arizona State Invitational. She has a 76.7 stroke average, while Bonetti is at 76.9.

Beeler, Nuutinen and Raastad have all posted top-five finishes this season. McCoy has three top-15 results, including a career-best tie for sixth at the MW Championship. Four different players (Beeler, Bonetti, Nuutinen and Raastad) have been TCU's top finisher in tournaments in the 2011-12 campaign.

Wins at the MW Championship and February's Central District Invitational have given TCU two tournament titles for the second straight season.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball