Frogs Ready For New Mexico Invitational

Jan. 27, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The TCU men's and women's track and field teams will compete at the New Mexico Team Invitational in Albuquerque, N.M, on Saturday, Jan. 28, at the Albuquerque Convention Center.

The action will begin at 8:30 a.m. CT with the women's weight throw, while running events are set to kick off at 11:25 a.m. Results will be available via LiveRunningResults.

The Field
The Horned Frogs will compete against Air Force, Fresno State, Kansas State, New Mexico, Utah State and Washington State.

School Record
In her first race of the indoor season, sophomore Brenley Goertzen broke the school record in the 3,000-meter race as she won the event with a time of 9:27.83 at the Aggie Team Invitational last week. Goertzen emerged as one of the best distance runners in the Big 12 throughout the 2016 cross country season. She earned bronze at the conference championships and placed sixth at regionals, becoming the first Frog since 2012 to earn a bid to the NCAA Championships.

The Return
Senior Jalen Miller, who took home third in the 60 meters at the 2015 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships, has made his return to the track after sitting out last year due to injury. Miller, competing for Ole Miss at the time, clocked in at 6.57 in the 60-meter finals in a race that gave TCU’s Ronnie Baker his first of two gold medals in the 60.

Relay Staple
With the return of two First-Team All-Americans in senior Raymond Bozmans and sophomore Darrion Flowers, TCU will look to keep the relays a Horned Frog tradition this year. The additions of freshmen Jostyn Andrews and Ryan Champlin have added solid depth to an already strong relay squad. The quartet of Champlin, junior Kevin McClanahan, Flowers and Andrews have produced a time of 3:11.26 in the 4x4 so far this season.

Immediate Impact
Freshman throwers Ryan Camp and Isaiah Rogers have already found themselves on TCU's all-time list early in their first season. Camp moved up to the No. 2 spot on the all-time list last week with a distance of 60 feet 1.25 inches (18.32 meters) in the weight throw. Rogers also jumped into the top-10 list as he threw 57 feet 8.50 inches (17.59 meters) in the shot put.

Keep ‘Em Coming
TCU has crowned an NCAA champion in each of the last five years:
* 2016: Ronnie Baker (60 meters)
* 2015: Ronnie Baker (60 meters)
* 2014: Lorraine Ugen (long jump)
* 2013: Charles Silmon (100 meters), Lorraine Ugen (long jump)
* 2012: Whitney Gipson (long jump)
* Only one other school in the Big 12 has claimed gold in each year since 2013 (Texas).

Follow The Frogs
For live updates and videos throughout the meet, follow @TCUTrackField on Twitter. A recap and final results will be posted to following the conclusion of competition.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball