Tweedie-Yates Named C-USA Player of the Year

Story Tweedie-Yates

Story Tweedie-Yates

April 29, 2005

Irving, Texas - Four members of the No. 18 TCU women's tennis team were named to the C-USA All-Conference teams, the conference office announced today. Senior Story Tweedie-Yates was a first team selection, as well as the Player of the Year and the Singles Player of the Championship. Joining her on the first team were junior Helena Besovic and sophomore Ana Cetnik, while freshman Kewa Nichols was a third team honoree.

Tweedie-Yates, who is ranked 15th in the nation in the latest ITA singles ranking that was released on April 26, is currently riding a 16-match winning streak that has pushed her singles record to 32-4 on the year. Against ranked opponents, the Redmond, Wash., native has posted a 16-4 mark with victories over two top-10 players in Aibika Kalsarieva of Kentucky and Nicole Leimbach of USC.

In doubles, Tweedie-Yates teamed with Cetnik to post a 19-2 record on the year. Heading into the C-USA Championship final against Tulane, the pair had won 13-straight matches dating back to Feb. 22. A year ago, Cetnik teamed with former Frog Saber Pierce to form the Outstanding Doubles Pair of the Championship. In singles competition, the Belgrade, Serbia, native posted a 13-8 record primarily at the three and four spots in the line-up, while battling a shoulder injury that forced her to serve underhand.

Besovic, a Division II all-American at Ouachita Baptist University, was TCU's third first team honoree after she led the team with 33 victories to only nine losses this season. Currently ranked 50th in the country, the junior went 10-5 against ranked opponents, which included a victory over fellow first team honoree, Jenny Kuehn of Tulane, in the championship match. In the fall, Besovic became one of three players in school history to advance to the ITA National Indoor Championship.

Nichols was a third team selection in her freshman campaign after she compiled an 18-4 dual record and a 23-12 overall mark. The Austin, Texas, native started off the year by winning her first six matches and had a season long seven-match win streak from March 30 through April 24, which included her first career victory over a ranked opponent as she topped Tulane's Julie Smekodub in three sets.

Tulane's David Schumacher was named the C-USA Coach of the Year for the third straight season and the fourth time in his six years at the helm and his double team consisting of sisters, Darya and Maria Ivanov, were honored as the Outstanding Doubles Pair of the Championship. DePaul's Beatrix Csordas was named the Freshman of the Year.

The Frogs, who are 20-4 this season, now await the NCAA selection show that will take place on Wednesday, May 4, between 4:30 and 5 p.m. (CDT) on ESPNews. Individuals chosen for the singles and doubles championships will be announced on May 5 by 5 p.m. on the NCAA's Web site.

First- and second-round team competition takes place on May 13-15 at 16 campus sites that have yet to be determined. The 16 teams advancing past the first and second rounds travel to Athens, Ga., to finish the remainder of the tournament over May 19-22. The NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships begin May 23 and conclude May 28.

First Team All-Conference
Helena Besovic, TCU
Ana Cetnik, TCU
Neyssa, Etienne, USF
Maria Ivanov, Tulane
Jenny Kuehn, Tulane
Story Tweedie-Yates, TCU

Second Team All-Conference
Beatrix Csordas, DePaul
Biljana Dimovska, Houston
Darya Ivanov, Tulane
Marina Parashkevova, DePaul
Julie Smekodub, Tulane
Courtney Vernon, USF

Third Team All-Conference
Liz Cruz, USF
Gabriela Duch, USF
Nancy Kockott, Tulane
Kami Miller, Houston
Kewa Nichols, TCU
Robyn White, Louisville

Coach of the Year
David Schumacher, Tulane

Player of the Year
Story Tweedie-Yates, TCU

Freshman of the Year
Beatrix Csordas, DePaul

Outstanding Singles Player of the Championship
Story Tweedie-Yates, TCU

Outstanding Doubles Pair of the Championship
Maria and Darya Ivanov, Tulane



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines