TCU Earns 18th NCAA Championship Bid

May 2, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas – The No. 25 TCU women’s tennis team received a bid to the NCAA Championship for the third straight season and 18th time in school history on Tuesday. The Horned Frogs (13-8) are the No. 2 seed in the four-team pod in the Palo Alto Regional and will take on No. 3 seed and No. 35 Rice on Saturday, May 13.

“The last couple of days we have been getting ready for the selection show,” head coach Lee Taylor Walker said. “The biggest challenge for us is not Stanford but Rice. Our team is really excited and has their mind set on the Sweet 16 so I have really no doubt in my mind that they will be pumped and prepared for Stanford but it is more getting them to realize Rice is a really good team. We are just going to be locked in and excited for Rice. We are pumped to go to the tournament again and I know the team is pretty determined to get through so we will be getting ready these next seven days.”

A win by TCU would set up a matchup with the winner of the match between No. 1 seed and host Stanford and No. 4 seed Idaho at the Taube Family Tennis Center in Palo Alto, Calif.. The host Cardinal have the No. 7 national seed going into the championship and the second round matchup will take place on Sunday, May 14.

TCU has won three of its final five matches of the season including a 4-1 upset of then-No. 7 Texas Tech in the home finale. The win over the Red Raiders marked the third straight season the Frogs have upset a top-15 opponent and the second time in the last three years the opponent has fallen inside the top-10. Seda Arantekin is the lone singles ranking at No. 57, while Donika Bashota and Olaya Garrido-Rivas hold the best doubles ranking at No. 17. Garrido-Rivas and Arantekin also pair up for a doubles ranking of No. 33.

The team to advance out of the Palo Alto Regional will compete in the NCAA Championship Team Finals held May 18 through 22 at the Dan Magill Tennis Center in Athens, Ga., on the campus of the University of Georgia.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three (3) six-game doubles matches played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

Individual fields for the NCAA singles and doubles championships will be announced Wednesday at 4 p.m.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball