Walker Reveals the 2017-18 Schedule

Aug. 28, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas – TCU women’s tennis coach Lee Taylor Walker announced the 2017-18 fall and spring schedule on Monday, with the Horned Frogs set to play in 14 matches against opponents who finished the 2016-17 season ranked nationally.

TCU, who finished the season ranked No. 28 in the country, will play in at least 13 matches against opponents who participated in the NCAA Championship last year. The Horned Frogs will host three fall tournaments along with 15 spring matches on the Bernard J. ‘Tut’ Bartzen Varsity Courts at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center.

“One thing that's very noticeable is lots of home tournaments and home matches,” Walker said. “Our venue is one of the best and so are our fans. Starting this year, we are going to maximize this home court advantage by having the best teams in the country here all year round. It already began in August with ITA Summer Nationals and we want to keep that going through the fall tournaments, then spring matches, culminating by qualifying to host the NCAA first two rounds and Sweet 16.

“We were a few points away from Sweet 16 and beyond last year. Having a testy, quality schedule is necessary to be in the position again. We also had several close losses and those hurt bad in the short term but I'm hopeful will produce in us a greater resilience to come through them this year and long term. Our goals are clear. We want to win the Big 12 and the NCAA Championship and anything else along the way. This schedule gives us the opportunity so now we just have to work and enjoy this privilege.”

The Frogs’ schedule includes six fall tournaments beginning with the Big 5 Challenge from Sept. 22-24 here in Fort Worth. The team will also play host to the ITA Texas Regional Championships presented by Oracle from Oct. 13-17 along with the TCU Hidden Duel from Oct. 27-29. TCU’s fall schedule also includes the ITA All-American Championship (Sept. 29-Oct. 8), the HEB Invite (Oct. 6-8), and the Dick Vitale Intercollegiate Tennis Tournament (Nov. 2-5).

The season will resume in January as the team travels to Hawaii to face the host Rainbow Wahine along with Cal and Texas A&M from Jan. 6-8. The first spring home match will be a doubleheader as the Frogs welcome Arkansas State and Southern Miss on Jan. 19. TCU will also take part in the ITA National Kick-Off Weekend in Stillwater, Okla., for the second straight year where the Frogs will take on Ole Miss in the first round. Oklahoma State and Arizona State will also be on hand, with the winner of the four-team tournament advancing to the ITA National Team Indoor Championship in New Haven, Conn., from Feb. 10-13.

The month of February sees the team staying in Fort Worth for the duration of the month as the Frogs welcome Texas Tech for a nonconference showdown on Feb. 3 before hosting Texas State and UTRGV on Feb. 4. Another doubleheader is on the slate for Feb. 10 as Rice and Prairie View A&M make their way to the Friedman Tennis Center before Texas A&M arrives on Feb. 18. The month will wrap-up on Feb. 23 with UCF coming to town.

Two home matches will begin the month of March as Brown will come in on March 3, before North Texas faces TCU on March 5. The team will then travel to the USTA Lake Nona complex in Orlando, Fla., to take on Duke on March 13 before returning home to open Big 12 action with Kansas State (March 23) and Kansas (March 25). A second match-up with Texas Tech is next on the schedule as the team travels to Lubbock for a face-off on March 31.

The final home matches on the season start with Texas on April 6 before concluding home league matches with Baylor on April 8. Two straight weekends on the road will be how TCU ends the 2017-18 regular season as the Frogs begin in the state of Oklahoma with Oklahoma State (April 13) and the Sooners (April 15), before heading to Ames, Iowa to face Iowa State (April 20) and Morgantown, W. Va., to face the Mountaineers (April 22).

The Frogs will start postseason play by heading to Austin, Texas for the 2018 Big 12 Championships on April 26-29. The first and second rounds of NCAA Championship action begins on May 12-13 on campus sites. Wake Forest will host the NCAA Team Championships and NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships on May 17-28 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, N.C.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Academics @TCUAASO
Baseball @TCU_Baseball
M Basketball @TCUBasketball
W Basketball @TCUWbasketball
Equestrian @TCUWEquestrian
Football @TCUFootball
M Golf @TCUMensGolf
Rifle @TCURifle
Swimming & Diving @TCUswimdive
Soccer @TCUSoccer
M Tennis @TCUMensTennis
W Tennis @TCUWomensTennis
Track & Field @TCUTrackField
Beach Volleyball @TCUBeachVB
Volleyball @TCUvolleyball