Kirby, Head Earn Big 12 Postgraduate Scholarship

Emily Kirby

Emily Kirby

May 31, 2013

FORT WORTH – TCU volleyball player Emily Kirby and men’s swimmer Nelson Head were named recipients of the Big 12’s Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship the conference announced Friday.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services' pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 313 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

Kirby, a May graduate from Sherman, Texas, played in 24 matches for the Horned Frogs as a senior, recording a career-best 31 kills across the season. Kirby wrapped up her career playing in 86 matches for TCU. She was named to the Academic All-Big 12 volleyball team for the 2012 season.

Head, a May graduate from Tulsa, Okla. was a busy man his senior season at TCU. Along with balancing the demands of swimming and academics, he also served as president for the TCU Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). In the pool, Head competed in the backstroke for the Horned Frogs, finishing eighth in the 200 back at the Big 12 Championships. He earned Academic All-Big 12 honors and was presented with the team’s “Most Valuable Team Contributor Award” for his work in and out of the pool.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee's respective institution and completion of athletics' eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.



    Cook Children's Albertsons
    Pepsi American Airlines